Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-17-2015, 08:17 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,769
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlet 18i20

Yes, that's pretty much it. And also the Scarlett has Word Clock out, in place of where the second firewire port would be on the Saffire 40.

Focusrite have stated that these are basically identical units. They came out with equivalent USB units because how computers were evolving. In the case of Windows PC's, firewire was always very iffy, and you had to have just the right firewire card, etc. With Macs, they started dropping the firewire ports altogether. So Focusrite came out with these USB units as an alternative for people to not have to use adapters and such.

However, they do advertise that if you use the the Saffire range, they will work fine with the Apple Thunderbolt adapter.

Also, they have stated that the Saffire firewire units are a little bit lower latency at the equivalent buffer of the USB units.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-17-2015, 08:38 AM
Michael Zull Michael Zull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 249
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlet 18i20

FWIW, I have a Scarlette 2i2 that I have used with W7, W8, and Mac OSX 10.9.x systems, on PT 10.3.9 and 11.2.1, and it's never given me any problems that I can recall.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-18-2015, 07:38 AM
tchipman tchipman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Clarion, IA USA
Posts: 124
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlet 18i20

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Zull View Post
FWIW, I have a Scarlette 2i2 that I have used with W7, W8, and Mac OSX 10.9.x systems, on PT 10.3.9 and 11.2.1, and it's never given me any problems that I can recall.
I'm so glad I came back here to visit. You guys have given me so much great information.......I really appreciate it. It also makes me feel a little secure having katherine from Focusrite watching. Now I have to decide which one will work for me........the 40 or the 18i20?
More a little later........I really need to pick your brains!
Tim
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-19-2015, 07:16 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,977
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlet 18i20

Quote:
Originally Posted by tchipman View Post
I'm so glad I came back here to visit. You guys have given me so much great information.......I really appreciate it. It also makes me feel a little secure having katherine from Focusrite watching. Now I have to decide which one will work for me........the 40 or the 18i20?
More a little later........I really need to pick your brains!
Tim
Let us know what you decide!!! Also, I'm not sure Katherine is still around, but there is someone else from Focusrite that checks here.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-20-2015, 10:22 AM
tchipman tchipman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Clarion, IA USA
Posts: 124
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlet 18i20

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
Let us know what you decide!!! Also, I'm not sure Katherine is still around, but there is someone else from Focusrite that checks here.
Hi Donald........I've looked through your list of equipment....very impressive. What I'd really like to do is start over with some kind of Thunderbolt interface and PT 11 and go the 64 bit direction but I can't afford it for one thing and another I'm not sure even if I could that it would make me enjoy what I'm doing in the basement any more.
I'd have to start over with plugins (not good....I've got a bunch of the Waves stuff that I like)......so that's why the Focusrite interface looked like an attractive alternative to the Digi 002.
I wrote Katerine a private message but you said she was gone. Who do you suggest I visit with at Focusrite?
Tim
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-20-2015, 11:03 AM
tchipman tchipman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Clarion, IA USA
Posts: 124
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlet 18i20

One other question...........is that your Dragon Rock Productions on SoundCloud? (Donnie Allen)?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-23-2015, 01:50 PM
Christian.Focusrite's Avatar
Christian.Focusrite Christian.Focusrite is offline
Focusrite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 80
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlet 18i20

Hi Tchipman,

You can PM me anytime. I try to check my inbox as frequently as possible. Also check out what we just announced:
http://us.focusrite.com/clarett-range

Thunderbolt range!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-26-2015, 09:46 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,977
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlet 18i20

Quote:
Originally Posted by tchipman View Post
One other question...........is that your Dragon Rock Productions on SoundCloud? (Donnie Allen)?
Yes
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-11-2015, 03:58 PM
mattskii mattskii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: 46 Mungala St Rochedale South
Posts: 12
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlet 18i20

Hi.

Only just had my attention drawn to this.

I’ve got a Scarlett 18i20 interface. However, it’s not stable on PT11 in that -6001 errors occur when moving between sessions of different bit rates. This might be an issue related to W7 or USB2, but I’m still not sure as the Focusrite help wasn't very helpful.

I eventually concluded that the cause was with the Focusrite drivers. The earlier version confines me to a 44.1. I can get above that with the current version (in scarlett-mixcontrol-1.8), but - as I've said - it's unstable. Their beta (in Scarlett MixControl-1.9b4) is dangerous. When it fails you need to do a complete deinstall of PT to make things work again.

The interface is, however, stable with PT10. It's also stable with Reaper.

Cheers,
Matthew.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-14-2015, 11:13 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,590
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlet 18i20

Re headphones, any interface that has 4 or more outputs is a prime candidate for a decent headphone amp. The one I use is the Alesis Multimix 6 Cue. How you feed it depends on your needs. At first(with my 003) I fed the main outs to the Alesis main inputs(everybody gets the same basic mix) and then used other outputs fed by AUX sends, so each of 4 players could have "more me"(had to make special cables, but anyone that can solder can do this). Now I feed 5 stereo mixes out of my HD IO so I can give separate mixes to all 5 players(about all I can fit in my little cave) ART makes a similar unit that has the AUX inputs on the back, so that might be a better option(but its another $50).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focusrite 18i20 Disconnecting with Pro Tools 11 SuperDave71 Third Party Interfaces 4 06-20-2014 06:43 AM
Focusrite 18i20 won't power on. Woodybear Third Party Interfaces 3 04-03-2014 04:19 PM
Focusrite 18i20 MEWCO Third Party Interfaces 17 03-03-2014 09:37 PM
Mbox Micro with PT 8 LE + Focusrite Scarlet 2i2 elmodagansta Windows 2 02-08-2013 02:57 AM
transfuser with protools 9 and focusrite scarlet 8i/6 zela8 Virtual Instruments 0 10-16-2011 10:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com