Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2013, 02:20 PM
hermonmusic hermonmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Default Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?

If you are using the Scarlett 18i20 and pro Tools 11, could you share your experience?
I have a DIGI 002 but I would like to get the Scarlett 18i20 from Focusrite, is it good or not? What about sound quality vs DIGI 002?
Sometimes I need more than 4 mic preamps.
Is USB 2 fast enough?
I already have Pro Tools 11.

Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-16-2013, 06:53 PM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?

As far as sound quality the Focusrite will be a big improvement over the 002.
I had a 002 but bypassed the audio chain quite a while back.
I use the Saffire line so I don't know about how the USB plays.
__________________
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is." - Yogi Berra
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2013, 06:55 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,214
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?

I've opted not to go with PT 11, but the Focusrite pre's in their units are great. IF you have F/W, I would suggest a Saffire Pro 40 or Liquid Saffire 56 over USB 2 device.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2018.10, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-16-2013, 08:35 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,173
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_daw View Post
Focusrite pre's in their units are great. IF you have F/W, I would suggest a Saffire Pro 40 or Liquid Saffire 56 over USB 2 device.
+1

Chris
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.5
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-16-2013, 09:07 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,772
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?

On the other hand, USB performance on newer interfaces is as good as firewire. People who have this unit are able to go down to a buffer of 32. The USB version will also keep your interface on a separate buss from your firewire drives if you have them. There's some positive discussion of the 18i20 on Gearslutz that you might check out.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2013, 10:15 PM
hermonmusic hermonmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?

Thank you all for your input.
I have firewire drives, one for audio and one virtual instruments but when I have connected the DIGI 002, pro tools 10 and 11 act very slow, (I know my computer is a MacBook Pro 2009) and was wondering if a usb interface, this one in particular (18i20) would help until I buy a new computer. (the new mac pro)

Thank you again for all your help
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-23-2013, 06:10 AM
TimothyJohn TimothyJohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, United States
Posts: 219
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
On the other hand, USB performance on newer interfaces is as good as firewire. People who have this unit are able to go down to a buffer of 32. The USB version will also keep your interface on a separate buss from your firewire drives if you have them. There's some positive discussion of the 18i20 on Gearslutz that you might check out.
I just got one-superb, couldn't be happier. Only had it a few days, but have been tracking drums, and recording 7 tracks simultaneously at a buffer of 32!

The only thing is, that when you register, the characters are case sensitive. And if you are instructed to update the firmware; well the Scarlett didn't work correctly until after I reinstalled the drivers as well. Smooth sailing ever since.

Oh, and one more thing. After start up, in mac's audio/midi app, the Scarlett defaults to a 14in/16 out device. I change it with the pulldown to 18i20. Minor hassle, but haven't figured out why this happens.

Good luck!
Tim
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-25-2013, 03:54 AM
hermonmusic hermonmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?

I need help! I would like to make a sound quality comparison between the DIGI 002 and the Scarlett 18i20. What's the best way to do it? I'm interested more in vocals. I do a lot of accapella stuff.
Thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-25-2013, 08:06 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,772
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?

No need to do a comparison. The Focusrite units sound much better. You can ask anyone who's switched.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-25-2013, 04:41 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,600
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
No need to do a comparison. The Focusrite units sound much better. You can ask anyone who's switched.
Have to agree. Consider, the 002 is a 10 year old device with 10 year old technology. Scarlett is all new. Nobody EVER acused the 002 of being a great sounding unit. It was and is a functional device, and anyone concerned about audio quality, would bypass the 002'a analog circuitry whenever possible
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 ProTools crash. BurtonTrucking Third Party Interfaces 7 04-17-2014 11:30 AM
Eleven Rack + Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 eboyer Eleven Rack 2 03-16-2014 09:51 AM
Scarlett 18i20 and USB 3 on Mac JCBigler Third Party Interfaces 1 11-09-2013 07:07 PM
Could you help me with this, please? - Calibrating a Scarlett 18i20 hermonmusic Getting Started 4 09-13-2013 08:33 PM
Mbox Pro 3 vs Scarlett 18i20 Help me decide! hermonmusic FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 11 08-09-2013 09:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com