Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2013, 08:25 AM
mentalsanityoff mentalsanityoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: www.julianevans.info
Posts: 10
Default Consolidating Fades

I'm experiencing this odd issue regarding the consolidation of two audio regions with a crossfade. When consolidating these two regions, the fade seems to lose a bit of power towards its center. I've attached screenshots of the visual representation of the problem, but I can definitely hear the difference as well. What's up with this? The region in question is a forest ambience, pretty wide-range noise.



__________________
Julian Evans
composer | sound designer | musician
www.julianevans.info
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm4227580/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2013, 10:06 PM
MaxVelazquez MaxVelazquez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 33
Default Re: Consolidating Fades

If you have pt10 use clip gain to resolve it. I really don't have a clue why that would happen.
__________________
Bikers never get lost....We go sight seeing
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2013, 02:22 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Consolidating Fades

Looks like a standard equal power crossfade, and consolidated duplicates null completely here on my mobile rig. All kinds of crossfades also null here, for that matter. Naturally, I can't hear any difference either.

Can't really help you, other than to tell you that I've tested various x-fades, duplicates and files here, and I don't see what you're seeing.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2013, 06:37 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,545
Default Re: Consolidating Fades

If you do the same section as a realtime bounce at unity gain, what does it look and sound like?

Last edited by Tweakhead; 06-09-2013 at 11:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2013, 10:05 AM
P,B,S P,B,S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: themoon
Posts: 286
Default Re: Consolidating Fades

Quote:
Originally Posted by mentalsanityoff View Post
the fade seems to lose a bit of power towards its centre.




You do realize that crossfades are not duct tape.
They do not glue one section to another.
A crossfade to deduce noises made from separate clips or regions works because it fades out at one end of the clip and fades in at the start of the new clip. Thus the losing power. Because thats exactly what it is supposed to do.

If this is causing problems for you it is because the fade is to long.
Try shortening the cross fade small as possible while remove the unwanted noise. Cross fades are not really meant to last any longer than they have to be.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2013, 03:58 PM
Irl Sanders Irl Sanders is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 236
Default Re: Consolidating Fades

Seems like you are drawing a positive parabolic equal power cross fade, but getting the results of a negative crossfade. Here is pink noise crossfaded all three ways, with proper visual (and audible) results.

Do you have clip gain on your in and out regions? Maybe the fade isn't picking up on that? Aside from a bug, maybe the two regions are partially phase canceling with each other? Try nudging one the regions a few hundred samples, and see if you get the same result, or fade at a different part of the file. Is it just these two particular regions, or anything you try to xfade? Could the file itself be corrupt? Check with Disk Utils.



The rendered results look the same wether consolidated or AudioSuite Duplicated

__________________
Irl Sanders
Music Editor
LA, CA, USA

Last edited by Irl Sanders; 06-10-2013 at 04:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11.1.2 Crashes when consolidating, adjusting fades, Audiosuite auditions etc Michael Carpenter Pro Tools 11 9 09-30-2016 11:06 AM
Loud White noise fades on fades and dissolves! www Pro Tools 9 2 04-16-2013 09:59 AM
Fades prefs vs. Batch Fades (or beating a dead horse) Starcrash Post - Surround - Video 2 09-23-2008 03:40 PM
create fades batch fades issue pt le theom Tips & Tricks 4 07-24-2006 09:46 PM
fades on muted regions render active fades?! yikes clarpark Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 02-08-2004 04:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com