Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2002, 11:34 AM
muspro muspro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 90
Default Mix System VS Powerful PTLE System

What are your thoughts on the processing power of PTLE 6.0 software (which will be Altivec and DP aware) running on a new Mac DP 1gig or 1.25 gig machine VS. a Mix or Mix Plus system?

I have seen several post where guys with Mix (1 card) systems did not have hardly any DSP power with 32 tracks. This makes me think that an 001 might be more powerful in a new DP Mac and the new PTLE software.

Here are my goals:
-24-32 tracks
-EQ and Comps on all tracks (waves)

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2002, 11:41 AM
protooleriate protooleriate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St John\'s Wood, London
Posts: 139
Default Re: Mix System VS Powerful PTLE System

Personally if that was ALL I would ever want to do I would go for LE...... but If you were to go for a Mix System you could upgrade much more easly at a later date if you wanted to. all you would need is a farm card, where as upgrading LE .... well you can't really, without going to a Mix/HD system. I know that i personaly would want to incease my track count/processing sooner or later so if I could I would probably go for a HD 1 system which would give me a lot to work with until I wanted to upgrade, which I could then do later when I had some cash
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2002, 12:24 AM
Philthy Philthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,241
Default Re: Mix System VS Powerful PTLE System

With a mix system you gain additional power. Don't forget that you can run all the same native plugs on a TDM system in addition to the TDM plugs. Also all of the mixer processing is handled by the TDM DSP, freeing up more power on the host processor. You're only adding to the processing power of your system.

In addition to all that, you gain double the track count and a lot of other features that once you have, you couldn't imagine going without.
__________________
Phil Mann
Silk City Music Factory - CT Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2002, 04:31 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Mix System VS Powerful PTLE System

When comparing a native-based ProToolsLE system v/s a card-based MIX or HD system, there are some things to think about obviously. Do you want to invest your money in DSP processing to give you rock-solid performance, real-time monitoring, and access to plugins that aren't available for anything else.... or do you want to have lesser processing but have a better front-end? In a perfect, world.... you'd have the TDM with the outboard gear. This really comes down to what your budget is and how you need to fill that budget. Personally, I use a Mix3 (dying for HD!) system which gives me plenty of power to run my Waves plugins, my ReverbOne (not available in LE), and everything else I want to throw at it. I can monitor my inputs in real-time, so no front-end mixer is needed. I'm also fortunate to be using some of the best outboard preamps and microphones available too.... but I understand it's not possible for everyone to have it both ways.

The advantages of the LE system is you can put some killer converters on the front-end, pickup a great mic-pre/compressor/eq with a high-end microphone. Get a wealth of native-plugins, a nice control surface, and some good accurate monitors. This can definitely be done for under $10,000 but again it comes down to what is your budget and how do you need to spend it. I'm not a big fan of native systems for how I WORK...but my needs are most likely completely different than your's.

While a MIX system is very good, it has very little DSP. The minnimum you should get is a MixPlus or really a Mix3. There are refurbished MixPlus systems for very affordable now that by the time it's all said and done you could get a full system with somd good plugins and a small control surface for about $15,000 including the computer and hard-drives. BUT with that said, HD has so much more to offer over a Mix series product with an improved internal summing-bus, new HD-only plugins, a streamlined TDM channel with improved bussing of its throughput, more DSP (way more), etc.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recurring PT rig crashes on powerful Mac Pro system; Magma Chassis the problem? avonkorff Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 08-15-2012 11:16 AM
DAE - 9073 On A Fairly Powerful System BigEvil Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 31 09-07-2008 02:18 PM
Ways to make LE system powerful - PCI cards etc? VanGough 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-25-2005 01:00 AM
Mix System VS Powerful PTLE System muspro Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 43 12-19-2002 09:06 AM
PLANNING TO BUY A POWERFUL PRO TOOLS SYSTEM, PLEASE TELL ME WHAT I NEED FOR MY STUDIO PCVPCV Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-24-2001 04:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com