Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2005, 12:17 PM
boneboy boneboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 200
Default 30\" Cinema Display w/ PT\'s-users post pros & cons

I would like to hear from you folks who are using the 30" Cinema Display with PT's. Please post your pros & cons.

We are building a new hi-end studio and are considering the 30" Cinema Display for several rigs. We want to make sure we are not throwing money out the window by making this purchase.

Thanks

there's already a post on the 30" at:

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...fpart=1#807158

but it did not really give me the pro & con info I'm looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:31 PM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 346
Default Re: 30\" Cinema Display w/ PT\'s-users post pros & c

Well, here's one for you. A facility that I frequent here in Toronto just upgraded a whole bunch of systems to G5's and the fancy new Apple LCD displays. After a few days, all the Engineers were complaining because the native resolution of the Apple display (16xx by 12xx ?) makes the text and screen buttons extremely tiny, and if you set the resolution down a notch, everything is blurry and grainy. They ended up returning all the fancy new Studio Displays and purchased a whole bunch of Samsung 19" LCD's with DVI inputs that run natively at 1280x1024 (at half the cost).

I don't know if that's the kind of feedback you're looking for, but that's one experience for you...

Cheers eh?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:14 PM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,367
Default Re: 30\" Cinema Display w/ PT\'s-users post pros & c

That's the reason I love my old 22' Cinema. It's resolution compared to physical size is just perfect, IMO. The newer Cinemas have too great resolution for PT use.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:20 PM
GL GL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 265
Default Re: 30\" Cinema Display w/ PT\'s-users post pros & c

The pixel pitch (size) on the 30" is 0.250 mm and .258 on the 23" and 20," so virtually identical The very first 22" Cinema Display was the only one with appreciably larger pixels. I have both a 30" Cinema and a 23" and see no difference.

After you work with the 30 for just a few days, you get used to it quickly, and the size of the display itself (screen size) doesn't feel as big anymore. Now it feels like my 23, until I move over and sit at the 23, which now seems really small. All relative.

I love the 30 and couldn't imagine not having it now. Never liked using 2 displays side by side, and having a black bar in the middle of your view. Maybe 3 displays would work better, but not 2, not for me. The 30" solves a lot of problems.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2005, 06:11 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: 30\" Cinema Display w/ PT\'s-users post pros & c

don't have a 30 but the res on my new 23 is just fine. i can see 26 full size faders in the mix window and 11 medium sized tracks in the edit. there's a studio in town that uses a $4k plasma @800x600 and it looks really bad.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:13 AM
soundlife2 soundlife2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: santa monica, ca
Posts: 174
Default Re: 30\" Cinema Display w/ PT\'s-users post pros & c

Just a bit of information:

ATI is porting their X800 class video cards over to the MAC and there will be a SINGLE SLOT card solution for the 30" Cinema display. This means you could have a HD|Accel 3 in your G5.

I'm not sure what the timeframe or cost is on the card, though.

Cheers,
__________________
.: phil kovats
.:
audio director
.:
naughty dog
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:29 AM
GL GL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 265
Default Re: 30\" Cinema Display w/ PT\'s-users post pros & c

Quote:
Just a bit of information:

ATI is porting their X800 class video cards over to the MAC and there will be a SINGLE SLOT card solution for the 30" Cinema display. This means you could have a HD|Accel 3 in your G5.

I'm not sure what the timeframe or cost is on the card, though.

Cheers,
Yes -- that's the card I'm using with the 30" -- single slot. It's been shipping for a few months now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:52 PM
boneboy boneboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 200
Default Re: 30\" Cinema Display w/ PT\'s-users post pros & c

Quote:
They ended up returning all the fancy new Studio Displays and purchased a whole bunch of Samsung 19" LCD's with DVI inputs that run natively at 1280x1024 (at half the cost).

I don't know if that's the kind of feedback you're looking for, but that's one experience for you...

Cheers eh?
Quote:
After you work with the 30 for just a few days, you get used to it quickly, and the size of the display itself (screen size) doesn't feel as big anymore. Now it feels like my 23, until I move over and sit at the 23, which now seems really small. All relative.

I love the 30 and couldn't imagine not having it now. Never liked using 2 displays side by side, and having a black bar in the middle of your view. Maybe 3 displays would work better, but not 2, not for me. The 30" solves a lot of problems.

Thanks ....Very helpful....that's exactly the kind of feedback I'm looking for.....anyone else???

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-15-2005, 09:23 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: 30\" Cinema Display w/ PT\'s-users post pros & c

My machine is 30 feet away in a computer room I was told a Dual DVI link was not possible to run 30' (If someone has an extention solution tell me). OLED (Organic Light Emitting Diode) is on the horizion.
I have seen Dual 30" Displays on Logic at Macworld it was sweet no need to ever close any windows
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-15-2005, 11:03 AM
JC925602 JC925602 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Montreal
Posts: 769
Default Re: 30\" Cinema Display w/ PT\'s-users post pros & c

Here is a picture of what fit in a 30 inch monitor.

edit window

and here is what it will look when you will rotate the 30" 90 degree with Tiger.

edit window at 90 degree

JC

P.S. I do not have a beta version of ProTools running a Beta version of Tiger, it's only a photoshoped screen dump.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Icon Owners only - post your pros and cons boneboy ICON & C|24 18 02-17-2005 02:46 PM
001 vrs mix 24, pros n cons westgate 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-10-2003 03:07 PM
pros and cons SPstudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 25 01-11-2002 09:52 AM
Pros and Cons SPstudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 01-11-2002 06:05 AM
USD vs SSD+VSD, pros cons synthetic Tips & Tricks 2 08-22-2000 11:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com