Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2019, 08:46 AM
Mr. Kelly Mr. Kelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Newton, MA 02458
Posts: 246
Default disappearing Air plugs...

Hi all...

I just clean installed Windows 10 on my computer, from W7.

I'm installed and am successfully using PT 10.3

I also installed PT11, which has never worked correctly on my PC, and still won't.

So, now, in PT10, the Air collection, which appeared in my W7 days, is no longer to be found. It does show up in my PT11 arsenal.

I have tons of sessions on PT10 with Air plugs, so I need to resolve this.

What might I be missing? Thoughts?

I have searched my hard drive and can find the actual plug files, but not sure how or if I should manually copy them and put them in a PT 10 plug in folder? Not even sure exactly where that folder resides...

Thanks for whatever help you can offer!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2019, 09:12 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,498
Default Re: disappearing Air plugs...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Kelly View Post
Hi all...

I just clean installed Windows 10 on my computer, from W7.

I'm installed and am successfully using PT 10.3

I also installed PT11, which has never worked correctly on my PC, and still won't.

So, now, in PT10, the Air collection, which appeared in my W7 days, is no longer to be found. It does show up in my PT11 arsenal.

I have tons of sessions on PT10 with Air plugs, so I need to resolve this.

What might I be missing? Thoughts?

I have searched my hard drive and can find the actual plug files, but not sure how or if I should manually copy them and put them in a PT 10 plug in folder? Not even sure exactly where that folder resides...

Thanks for whatever help you can offer!

Hi,

This might be a factor.

Pro Tools 10 and 11 are both not supported to run on Windows 10.
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2019, 10:13 AM
Mr. Kelly Mr. Kelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Newton, MA 02458
Posts: 246
Default Re: disappearing Air plugs...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Hi,

This might be a factor.

Pro Tools 10 and 11 are both not supported to run on Windows 10.
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart
Thank you… I had not considered that. Interestingly, they are both working as it is on windows 10, although PT 11 has always been buggy on my system, so I don’t trust it enough to run it solo.

That being said… I am betting there is a workaround, and I will figure it out with a bunch of legwork, but was hoping somebody on here would know how to take the Air plug in files and maybe put them in ProTools 10 plug-in folder?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2019, 06:01 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,574
Default Re: disappearing Air plugs...

Windows 8/8.1 and Windows 10 are not supported for co-install. However, if you want to try it:

A successful co-install requires (32-bit) Pro Tools 10 plus Avid Virtual Instruments 10.0 to be installed first, before installing (64-bit) Pro Tools 11 plus AIR Creative Collection Instruments and AIR Creative Collection Effects. Installers available in your Avid Account, under My Products and Subscriptions.


Pro Tools 10/11/12 Co-install Information
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ll-Information

Please also see:
Avid Knowledge Base - AIR Virtual Instruments and Effects are missing after installing Pro Tools. These include Boom, DB-33, Mini Grand, Structure Free, Vacuum, Xpand2!, AIR Chorus, AIR Dynamic Delay, AIR FuzzWah, AIR Phaser, etc.
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-Tools-install

Good luck – please post your result!
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.5/10.3.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate (SP1) – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32

Last edited by unkJE; 04-30-2019 at 06:18 PM. Reason: extra info
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-02-2019, 06:53 AM
Mr. Kelly Mr. Kelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Newton, MA 02458
Posts: 246
Default Re: disappearing Air plugs...

Interestingly, I have both PT 10 and PT 11 coexisting on Wndows 10, both 64-bit.

The current sessions that I am running are fairly small, and PT 11 hasn’t really been tested fully with this configuration, but I don’t even need PT 11 to run well, if I can get 10 working well.

All of that being said, I’m thinking that my interest now is to figure out which folder in PT 10 houses plug-ins, and where I can find the Air Plug-ins on my system to perhaps copy and paste them into the PD 10 plug ins folder.

I had the exact same set up last year w. W7, and had to reformat my hard drive, reinstall everything, which worked just fine, so the only change is Windows 10. I suppose I could uninstall PT 11 to see if the Air plug-ins magically appear, but I am doubtful.

One workaround, involving the only thing missing on my system now, is a free or very inexpensive fuzz/overdrive/distortion plug-in. That is likely the only plug in the Air collection that I used frequently.

Any continuing thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-02-2019, 05:58 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,574
Default Re: disappearing Air plugs...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Kelly View Post
....which folder in PT 10 houses plug-ins, and where I can find the Air Plug-ins on my system to perhaps copy and paste them into the PD 10 plug ins folder.
The Pro Tools 10 (AAX) Plug-Ins are here:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Avid\Audio\Plug-Ins

The Pro Tools 11 Plug-Ins are here:
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Avid\Audio\Plug-Ins

AIR Presets (Default location) are here:
C:\Program Files (x86)\AIR Music Technology
I copied the individual Presets and pasted them here:
C:\Users\User Name\Documents\Pro Tools\Plug-In Settings


Don't copy & paste the Plug-Ins - there are separate Installers for 32-bit and 64-bit versions. The 64-bit versions are a larger size.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.5/10.3.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate (SP1) – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anyone know the procedure to re-auth Air plugs and Audioffex plugs crizdee General Discussion 2 06-12-2018 06:06 PM
BUG: Big counter disappearing 1m1 Pro Tools 11 0 03-22-2015 06:34 PM
Native Instrument Plugs vs Stock PT-10 Plugs PatriotsBiker AAX Plug-ins 8 02-04-2013 11:19 AM
Disappearing I/O Borg Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-19-2008 11:34 AM
Disappearing Plugs? Eric Bazilian Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-29-2001 09:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com