Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2018, 12:35 PM
spock999 spock999 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Ste-Julienne Qc Canada
Posts: 146
Default High Sound not as open after mixdown

I use a Print Track so when I Print I can just active/deactive the monitoring of this track to ear the sound before and after Print and I don`t know why but the High sounds are more open before the print ... why ?

I have no process on the Print track and only a SSL G BUS with a 3 db compression and Protool Maxime with a Peak at -1.3 and not compression on the Main Bus. If a Protool Guru could help I
__________________
Your eyes can deceive you don't trust them , Mix with your ears
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2018, 02:48 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 653
Default Re: High Sound not as open after mixdown

I cant remember off hand which is which, but depending on what you are bouncing , printing and from where PT will automatically dither some and not others. Perhaps that is the case in what you are doing.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 18.7 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2018, 03:05 PM
spock999 spock999 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Ste-Julienne Qc Canada
Posts: 146
Default Re: High Sound not as open after mixdown

Thanks that a good clue
__________________
Your eyes can deceive you don't trust them , Mix with your ears
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2018, 04:46 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,719
Default Re: High Sound not as open after mixdown

One serious bug that nobody seemed to care about (but ruined many of my mixes that I sent out and didn't realize) is the fact that Pro Tools will bounce differently then what you hear on playback if you ever have a mono-stereo plugin on a track that is inactive. For example, if you have a reverb aux that is mono, but then you use a mono-stereo plugin, then make it inactive and put a stereo plugin on after the inactive track. It will playback as expected, but it will bounce down very differently with anything related to that track. Maybe this is related to the differences you are seeing.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2018, 09:30 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,604
Default Re: High Sound not as open after mixdown

HEAT engaged on your print track (should be bypassed)? Any chance you're double busing something to the monitor output that doesn't mute when you listen only to your playback track?
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
high pitched sound? xcracer41 macOS 1 02-16-2013 08:22 PM
Bob marley's high hat sound? janmuths The Drum Room 7 12-23-2012 05:12 AM
Best Sound / Mixdown Option akhafaji Windows 4 11-20-2011 12:10 AM
Mixdown - mixdown pitch shift problem kakeneeditoo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-03-2007 03:38 PM
nasty metallic sound on mixdown problem Delusion 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-08-2003 11:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com