Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 03-16-2015, 05:50 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,214
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Apex might have beat you to the 500-rack-slash-audio-interface idea, though. http://www.aphex.com/products/usb-500-rack/

Damn, but I see that's only a 4 bay 500 series rack :P
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2018.10, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 03-16-2015, 07:10 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_daw View Post
Damn, but I see that's only a 4 bay 500 series rack :P
Duct tape two of them together and hit the patent office!
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-16-2015, 07:32 PM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 770
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
Look up The Pro Tools PC. Lots of motherboards available with it, and a few laptops.

Let's dispense with the Apple generated propaganda.

It's an Intel idea, so any motherboard with the right Intel chipset can have it.

Thunderbolt on Windows works. Even on units like the Apollo, who haven't even written official support for it yet. Existing drivers work. Same goes for Avid HD Native Thunderbolt.

Apple are going to get left behind. While they've specced TB2, TB4 is already in the pipeline, as is USB3.1 and USB4, which brings TB levels of performance.

And what's the need anyway? RME claim to get close to PCIe levels of performance out of USB2 already.
Apollo TB on Winders only works with UAD's rev 1 card. They've been shipping the rev 2 for a while, so the only way you can go Apollo TB on PC is if your retailer has a TB rev 1 card and willing to swap it out for you. Apollo is waiting for a universal TB driver in Windows as they haven't suggested they are willing to write a driver for TB2.

TB is Apple's version of Lightpeak, they spec'd it for copper instead of fiber. Intel is currently hastening it's Skylake chipset which will be the first true implementation of TB by hanging it directly on the CPU and not the PCH.

I wish MS WOULD put a driver in 10 so I could build a zippy PC with TB for about $3k rather than the $6K for an equivalent Mac Pro.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 04-08-2015, 12:18 PM
Christian.Focusrite's Avatar
Christian.Focusrite Christian.Focusrite is offline
Focusrite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 80
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

Hello Everyone,

I just wanted to give a quick update on PC compatibility. While we are pleased to announce that the Clarett range is set to be fully PC compatible, Windows Support will not be available at the time of first ship but will follow a short time later. We are focussed on writing robust drivers for Windows which will offer the same high performance as on a Mac. Please keep an eye on the website for further news. I'll also keep this forum updated as I get more information.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-20-2015, 11:42 AM
Cutlerbri Cutlerbri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 262
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

Hi Christian from Focusrite,

The new Clarret line looks pretty cool and it comes at a time when I'm seriously thinking about upgrading from my Mbox 2. I will have to get one of the new TB Macs first, of course.

But do you know what the MSRPs will be for the line? I'm a project studio guy and I'm thinking the Clarret pre2 would be perfect for me. Any idea what that will retail for?

Thanks.
__________________
Brian
See profile page for system details
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-21-2015, 09:39 AM
Christian.Focusrite's Avatar
Christian.Focusrite Christian.Focusrite is offline
Focusrite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 80
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

Hi Cutlerbri,

Thanks for your interest in the Clarett line, and here's the info you requested:

Clarett 2Pre 499.99

Clarett 4Pre 699.99

Clarett 8Pre 999.99

Clarett 8PreX 1299.99

Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Last edited by Christian.Focusrite; 08-21-2015 at 09:40 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08-24-2015, 05:10 AM
Seafoam_Green's Avatar
Seafoam_Green Seafoam_Green is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bali - Indonesia
Posts: 788
Default Re: Focusrite announces Clarett Interface range

take my money
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt interfaces nst7 Pro Tools 11 3 01-23-2015 04:32 AM
New interface - Focusrite YYR123 General Discussion 3 02-06-2014 09:10 PM
Focusrite interface jayjaystevens Pro Tools 10 2 10-02-2013 08:17 AM
Focusrite 2i4 Interface? Terry Wetzel Windows 6 10-02-2013 05:38 AM
focusrite interface with protools ? dubhole 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-22-2009 05:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com