Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-26-2013, 07:24 AM

Default Audio vs Video Final Mix

I am looking for some direction. I primarily do audio/music production. I have been approached to mix tracks for a bands promotional reel video.

I have the songs they will be using and I have been cleaning and tightening up the audio production.

My question is are there things I should be doing for the Video guy that he might assume I know already. I thought Id ask here. As even though I am a novice when it comes to supplying audio for video, Id rather not come across as one if at all possible.

Here are a few of my assumptions/questions.
  • Final delivery - should it be 48khz 24 bit wav files?
  • What is optimal sound level for video work?
  • Should I ask him for this rough cut video file and I sync/compile the audio so that he truly just adds the video?
  • Should I be supplying Stems if he wants to do the compiling.
  • Do you have any suggested sites that might provide some tutorials for the questions I am asking.

Are there other questions I should be asking?

Id appreciate any guidance as I step into unfamiliar territory.

Dave
Old 10-26-2013, 10:27 AM

Default Re: Audio vs Video Final Mix

What dose the band mean by promo reel? a recording of there show or did they shoot music videos(s)
Is the editor cutting to a rough mix? do you need to make one for him? If he is not you will have timing problems
I don't think Stems are needed in this application
as for sound level read through the calibration thread pinned in this section but the band will probably want it as loud as posable

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

Thank you,

Craig