Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 07-16-2002, 01:28 PM

Default Re: the greatest era in recording history is...

I enjoyu the eighties personally. Saw a LOT of cool electric gear come out in the eighties. And especially with the creation of MIDI..
Old 07-17-2002, 12:26 AM

Default the greatest era in recording history is...

the mid 60's thru the mid 70's.

Okay, okay, I'll qualify that opinion a bit. I'm a musician, not an engineer. I bought my 001 to get ideas down and to learn a little something about the recording process. In fact, I think that's been the most important factor. Playing with mic placement, etc. Another thing that's been important is to get better playing "when the red light is on." Even home alone, my playing is different when I'm straining to play along with the click track when other parts don't go perfectly along with the time, etc. I've gotten a lot better at playing naturally while I'm recording. But I digress...

So I'm not a professional engineer. The reason I think the mid 60's thru the mid 70's was the best era, for all musical genres (IMHO) is, first of all stereo. Mono, even though that recording era is important too, will never be as good as stereo. we have two ears, and our brains triangulate a sound, to determine depth, etc.

Also, in that period, multi track grew, but didn't grow too much. they had those old tube boards with the great tube amps, so they could get a much better sound than with earlier stuff. but, they didn't have a zillion tracks like they do now, nor tons of plugins. Reverb was real reverb, not simulated on a computer. they also had limits, namely in the number of tracks, track bleeding, and so forth.