Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2002, 06:46 PM
flohrianderl flohrianderl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 12
Default changes that make windows faster ?!

I´m looking for a sheet, that describes detailed, what to remove from windows 98se (eg in the registry ) to make my musiccomputer work more efficient and faster.
Has anyone an idea ? [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2002, 12:15 AM
gerax gerax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Modena, Italy
Posts: 1,615
Default Re: changes that make windows faster ?!

theres'lots of tweaks to do to optimize Windows for audio apps; here's a few.

-Disable Write Behind Caching: Control Panel>System>Performance>File System>Troubleshooting>Select last option.

-Reduce Read Ahead Optimization: Control Panel>System>Performance>File System>Hard Disk> Decrease slider to the smallest setting.

-Enable DMA for all IDE disks: Right click My Computer>Device Manager>XCilck on the + sign next to disk drives>Double click on each drive showed>Settings> check DMA (for CD Romtoo).

-Turn "Auto Insert notification Off": same path as above, uncheck that option for ALL CD Roms and CDRWs.

-IRQ settings: this is no easy issue, so if you encounter some IRQ conflicts try placing the 001 card in other PCI slots untill you find the one that doesn cause problems: it seems that 001 works well in slot 3 and IRQ forced to 9 in BIOS (in most computers).

-Turn off any unwanted background running apps: Start>Run>type MSCONFIG> select startup>uncheck everithing except System Tray.

-Graphic acceleration: right click on "My Computer">Properties>Performance>Graphics>decrease the slider to its smaller setting; this tweak doesn't have that much impact so you may wan't to let it where it is if you're using graphics apps together with audio.

- The computer's role: Right click on My computer> properties> performance> file system> set computer role to "network server".

There's others, but they're al little more complicated that these and involve a little more tweaking and PC knowledge to be written in two lines, if you need them email me I'll send a detailed article; the tweaks above should give you an increase in performance, but the results depend a lot on you system's configuration; also be sure to regularly defrag your drives, and use a dedicated on e for audio files only.
Also check out prorec.com for interesting tips and tweaks on windowes machines.

Good luck

L.G. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 8 PT 10 conflict. Trying to make it work. martyredwhitmans Windows 6 02-13-2013 05:24 PM
Can you make protools load faster? jack2006 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 06-22-2006 07:27 AM
Windows XP 64 Bit version....Faster for PTLE? Swaphappy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-05-2003 09:00 AM
How Do Ya MAKE IT PLAY THE SONG FASTER? The Zone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 10-22-2002 10:53 PM
Faster Processor=Faster Bounce??? smashannon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 08-28-2000 10:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com