Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-16-2008, 05:32 AM
Arno Peeters's Avatar
Arno Peeters Arno Peeters is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 1,091
Exclamation M-powered on Leopard: weird graphic errors and sluggish AS

Dunno whether the problems I have are related to:
- Leopard
- M-Powered
- Quad machine

I have a brand new 2 x 2.8 Quad Pro stuffed with 10g memory and a cleanly installed Leopard. I work on location abroad, so in this case I use a FW410 with M-Powered.
I'm fiddling around in a 24/44 session with pretty much nothing going on and no other apps running in the bg. than Thunderbird and Firefox I noticed weird screen redraws and blank windows when switching from e.g. Firefox back into PT: see here
And also Audiosuite is really sluggish, to the point of unworkable: whether I choose Z-Noise or Analog Channel.
I have set the Playback Engine to 256, 6 cores for RTAS and 85% CPU.
Trashed DAE,- and PT-prefs, I have no 'non-Leopard plugs installed (did a clean install of the whole machine... ouch!). Also removed some wrapped VST-plugs, but no change

Although I'm a very experienced user, I'm quite new to both Mac Pro and Leopard, so I hope these problems are related to the new machine and sw-environment, something a future maintenance-release might fix....

Anyone else got any idea's or suggestions?
__________________
Arno Peeters
Tape TV Productions

Last edited by Arno Peeters; 08-16-2008 at 05:55 AM. Reason: More details added
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-18-2008, 10:18 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,624
Default

I would possibly suspect bad RAM - have you tried removing some to see if the behavior changes?

What about testing from a new admin account?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT with 3 monitors - graphic errors RuffinMedia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-14-2010 05:31 PM
Snow Leopard - Sluggish playhead in 8.0.1 but not in cs3 Richard901 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 10-04-2009 03:10 AM
graphic errors with PT/HD 7.1 on XW8000 doc.phibes Post - Surround - Video 9 04-18-2008 10:07 AM
M-powered sluggish compared to Steinberg fransmo Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 03-07-2006 10:11 AM
sluggish graphic in win xp San souci studio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-04-2003 09:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com