Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2010, 08:29 AM
protools123 protools123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 90
Default Noob needs help with Pro Tools

I am running Pro Tools M Powered 8 on Win XP Pro 32 bit if it helps anyone answer the question(Probably not).

I have a guitar track and a vocal track in a recording. I was wondering how to silence part of a vocal track in a recording I have. I want the guitar track to remain at the level it is at though. I know this is most likely a simple fix, but all help is appreciated.

Also, I cannot seem to find a way to Copy/Paste form one PT session to another. Is this possible?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2010, 09:58 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,658
Default Re: Noob needs help with Pro Tools

There are a couple ways you can do this:

1. Select the area in the audio region you want to silence, then hit control+E to separate then control+M to mute the newly separated region.

or

2. On the track in question change to Volume view (to view volume automation). Select the area on the track you want to mute then, using the Trimmer tool, hover it above the volume line in the selected area and click and drag downward until the volume for that selection is all the way at the bottom.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2010, 10:09 AM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 626
Default Re: Noob needs help with Pro Tools

Digi Tech has it right... you could also just automate the mute for the section of vocal you want to have quiet
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2010, 12:16 PM
protools123 protools123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 90
Default Re: Noob needs help with Pro Tools

Thanks for the quick Reply. Will try this out Saturday when I am back where the computer is.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2010, 02:21 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,204
Default Re: Noob needs help with Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by protools123 View Post
I am running Pro Tools M Powered 8 on Win XP Pro 32 bit if it helps anyone answer the question(Probably not).


Also, I cannot seem to find a way to Copy/Paste form one PT session to another. Is this possible?

Thanks.
Regarding this question, you need to export regions as files(pick a simple location like a folder on the desktop) and then import the region(s) into the next session(File>Import>Audio).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2010, 05:20 PM
protools123 protools123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 90
Default Re: Noob needs help with Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Regarding this question, you need to export regions as files(pick a simple location like a folder on the desktop) and then import the region(s) into the next session(File>Import>Audio).
Was fearing it was something like that. Thanks Anyway.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Noob Start Up Help Tman311 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-18-2010 10:38 AM
Pro Tools 8 noob question... TAMA Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 12-27-2009 08:49 AM
Pro Tools noob question Toolpeth MIDI 3 11-06-2009 05:46 AM
complete pro tools noob- bfd help pappythespaceman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-18-2007 01:51 PM
Pro Tools 7.3.1 and EZDrummer for a noob Klesk4000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-14-2007 11:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com