Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2001, 06:11 AM
bvleugels bvleugels is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 28
Default playback setting

I run 5.1 with OS 8.6 on a 9600.

I'm trying to find the Preference buttion to reset my playback setting...I'm used to the playback setting of playing a region on anywhere in a session FROM THE POSITION OF MY CURSOR. No, after stopping the playback, it will start from where I stopped, NOT from the location of my cursor.

Where is the setting to change this back? I can't seem to find it anywhere.

Thanks,
Bart
__________________
Bart
Boom Audio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2001, 07:57 AM
Jeffrey Talbot Jeffrey Talbot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: New Orleans, LA USA
Posts: 637
Default Re: playback setting

This goes under the "oops" catagory..

In the "EDIT" window, above the Show/Hide window are three icons.. The right most one has four arrows... make sure this is highlighted, and you will be back to operating as you were before.


Good Luck!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2001, 08:07 AM
savage savage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 78
Default Re: playback setting

Go to menu <operations>, choose <scroll options> and there you go.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-23-2001, 08:10 AM
savage savage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 78
Default Re: playback setting

sorry...guess I misunderstood you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-23-2001, 08:34 AM
snoopy snoopy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Hollywood CA
Posts: 744
Default Re: playback setting

I think there is a bug that causes one of the preferences to keep turning itself on every now and then. I have had this problem since 5.0 and was hoping they woulkd fix it in 5.1. I forget the name of the preference, but its the first check box in the operations prefs tab i believe.
__________________
Colin Miller
Teaboy Audio Recall Sheets
http://teaboyaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-23-2001, 10:17 AM
spigots spigots is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Arlington, TX, USA
Posts: 504
Default Re: playback setting

Or it could be this.

Setup>Preferences>Operation
Top Radio Button is "Timeline Insertion Follows Playback"

De-select it
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-23-2001, 11:56 AM
Przemek Przemek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Poznan, POLAND
Posts: 1,004
Default Re: playback setting

I think that the problem is that it's very easy to accidentaly switch this function on and off by pressing ctrl+N - or even easier, if someone uses one-key commands. If this happens, press ctrl+N and you're done.
Przemek.
__________________
http://imaginatlh.com/91709
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-23-2001, 06:11 PM
snoopy snoopy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Hollywood CA
Posts: 744
Default Re: playback setting

I meant what spigots said, thanks for the correction (I don't have online access at studio to check things like that). Przemek, you may be right about the one button accident. Do you know off hand what letter it might be that puts it in that mode? I guess I never considered that because I didn't think they affected anything that went into the preferences (since it would have to be saved into the preference file each time as opposed to a pull-down menu option).
__________________
Colin Miller
Teaboy Audio Recall Sheets
http://teaboyaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-24-2001, 01:17 PM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,825
Default Re: playback setting

It's the N key in one key mode. So easy to hit by mistake. It should be changed to another key or at least there should be a visual clue that it is on...some kind of indicator which mode you are in.
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-26-2001, 08:53 AM
snoopy snoopy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Hollywood CA
Posts: 744
Default Re: playback setting

I looked into this issue a little more recently (In regards to me).

The "Timeline Insertion Follows Playback" preference keeps checking itself. I can't recreate this by using the N key or Ctrl+N. Also these two buttons do not remedy my problem either, only deselecting "Timeline Insertion Follows Playback" from the prefs does. The button with four arrows is always highlighted when working and not working properly.

Also wondering if anyone else has this problem. I'd say every 25 or so punchins, pro tools does not go into record. The record light will flash and then go solid, but the selected region will not actually record. This occurs in both regular and quickpunch mode, using F12 or CMD+Spacebar.

Anyone else?

__________________
Colin Miller
Teaboy Audio Recall Sheets
http://teaboyaudio.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting markers while recording or playback. critza 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 01-22-2010 06:30 PM
Help Setting Up Playback Engine hearttimes Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-03-2007 05:45 PM
setting up repeat playback? chal7ds 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-13-2006 04:38 AM
Setting up output for playback mcm15 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 01-07-2006 02:47 PM
Pausing playback or setting locates STUDIO A 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-26-2003 11:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com