Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2011, 05:09 PM
BenDorigan BenDorigan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 1
Default awful sound when arming track for record

I recently installed ProTools LE 8 with the Mbox 2 mini interface on my Mac G5. Too often when I click the record button to arm a track, the light meter on that track pegs out (mix window) and a deafening screech blasts through my headphones. (I make sure they're off my head before I click record now.) I can occasionally remedy this by restarting the computer but doing so each time gets counter-productive. Any advise?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2012, 09:15 AM
Zicky94 Zicky94 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Amherst Massachusetts
Posts: 1
Default Re: awful sound when arming track for record

I get the same problem in pro tools 10 with a focusrite 2i2. Please help!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2012, 09:58 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,738
Default

To zicky b/c Ben's post is
So old

Check ur levels turn your gain pots all the way down -

Make sure ur routing is correct in ur I/o setup

If its screeching on mic input switch to line to see if it stops

As always latest drivers for the 212 and latest asio drivers as well
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2012, 01:27 PM
JazzyJ JazzyJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 791
Default Re: awful sound when arming track for record

mute the track!

You're using an mbox mini with a 'latency mix knob'! You monitor there, NOT through Pro Tools.

Read the manual.......
__________________
Hack Pro (4.2Ghz i7 Quad/16GB)
PT11 / OSX 10.8.5
TC Electronic Konnekt 24D

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2012, 11:01 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,391
Default Re: awful sound when arming track for record

This has come up before. Some have said it's not feedback, that it behaves like some kind of bug.

I think someone solved it by just trashing prefs. Worth a try.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT embedding awful, awful noises into my audio. Houston, we have a problem.... emorganproductions 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 02-26-2010 02:41 AM
hear sound without arming track?? tec 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-13-2007 09:22 PM
Awful Sound Quality After Bounce NikKnights 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-23-2004 08:20 AM
"PT makes your mixes sound awful"-? chuck General Discussion 9 05-14-2001 08:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com