Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2016, 03:36 AM
Inthebox Inthebox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 74
Default 1,5 seconds delay starting record

Hi there

When I hit record on 24 tracks, the system waits for ca. 1,5 seconds before the recording starts. Also, when I stop recording, it takes a while before the color on the tracks goes from the light red color to individual colors on the tracks.

Can I do something to eliminate these offsets/delays, or do I have to live with it?

Delay compensation: Off
Trash Prefs & Databases: Done

PT HD2 8.1.1.1
Mac Pro Xeon 1.1
Mac OS 10.6.8
192 I/O
7200 RPM disks

Cheers

-Lars
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2016, 07:14 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,885
Default Re: 1,5 seconds delay starting record

It's been a while so I don't remember the proper term, but in the settings there is something called disk buffer or whatever. Levels from zero to five, if memory serves me right. If you set it to zero, it is instant but error-prone. Set it to larger number and you have more room for occasional latency hiccup, but it buffers your audio for some amount of time. Find that setting and try if it helps to change it.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2016, 01:26 PM
Inthebox Inthebox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 74
Default Re: 1,5 seconds delay starting record

Ok, thanks Jfreak.

I just tried changing the Disk Buffer size on my Imac with 9.06, but there doesn't seem to be any difference. I will try it on my HD rig tomorrow.

Cheers

-Lars
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2016, 11:51 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: 1,5 seconds delay starting record

check your Record Allocation Time setting
keep this setting as small as you can for maximum results
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay going into record and pop when starting propower Pro Tools 12 2 04-18-2016 07:00 PM
Help-delay when starting record Jeff ONeil 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-14-2010 01:24 PM
8 Seconds To Record? DrewDrew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-16-2007 06:00 AM
Workspace plays files after 3 seconds of delay Ale Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-20-2007 03:26 AM
Record delay about 3-5 seconds in protools for osx Janvy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-24-2004 07:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com