Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2016, 07:38 AM
Sndnerd Sndnerd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 52
Default PT 12 HD + Cedar DNS 2000

Curious if anyone is using a DNS2000 with 12.. it's been a bit of a headache over here. I have to power cycle the unit every time I open a session. I get crashes if I close a session without doing so.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2016, 01:51 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,670
Default Re: PT 12 HD + Cedar DNS 2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sndnerd View Post
Curious if anyone is using a DNS2000 with 12.. it's been a bit of a headache over here. I have to power cycle the unit every time I open a session. I get crashes if I close a session without doing so.
Have you tried to contact Clive or Paul at Cedar Audio?
They are very helpful and usually respond promptly.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2016, 03:41 PM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,079
Default Re: PT 12 HD + Cedar DNS 2000

Suggest upgrading your hardware to DNS One plug-in and not looking back.
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2016, 06:49 PM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Metropolis
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: PT 12 HD + Cedar DNS 2000

No reason to throw out good hardware. DNS 2K working perfectly here with Pt12 (see my specs)

What OS?T
__________________
system specs in profile
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2016, 08:01 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: PT 12 HD + Cedar DNS 2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIKEROPHONICS View Post
Suggest upgrading your hardware to DNS One plug-in and not looking back.
I don't disagree but that's a lot of coin to toss by the wayside.
Now if Cedar had a trade-in program
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-2016, 11:34 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,670
Default Re: PT 12 HD + Cedar DNS 2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIKEROPHONICS View Post
Suggest upgrading your hardware to DNS One plug-in and not looking back.
Agree! Yes, its painful a bit. But this move IMHO is smart because you can:
1. Change your workflow by inserting on each DX channel a DNS One instead having only two of them on DX MSTR A and B.
2. No more dependence on DNS2000 unit plus messing with studios I/O if you travel, instead you just cary the dongle along with the iLok.
3. The Audio Suite option is a plus and very useful.
4. You can off line bounce you DX premixes (I already use my DNS One there) and benefit from a faster than real time process.
5 You are fully backward compatible with DNS 2000 unless you use more than two instances of the DNS processors.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2016, 02:50 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,079
Default Re: PT 12 HD + Cedar DNS 2000

Cedar are currently running a cross-grade scheme for hardware to get on the DNS One software platform. For all the reasons mentioned by mgoorevich, I heartily recommend checking this out.
The DNS One is on every DIAL channel in my template, so I can track freeze to my heart's content. Split outs of PFX for M&E's is therefore a doddle. Think of the time saving.....The days of hardware are numbered IMHO.
And remember too that Cedar never charge for software updates - you buy into the best (as you know from your hardware) for life. Jolly nice people too!
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-05-2016, 03:14 AM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: PT 12 HD + Cedar DNS 2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIKEROPHONICS View Post
Cedar are currently running a cross-grade scheme for hardware to get on the DNS One software platform. For all the reasons mentioned by mgoorevich, I heartily recommend checking this out.
The DNS One is on every DIAL channel in my template, so I can track freeze to my heart's content. Split outs of PFX for M&E's is therefore a doddle. Think of the time saving.....The days of hardware are numbered IMHO.
And remember too that Cedar never charge for software updates - you buy into the best (as you know from your hardware) for life. Jolly nice people too!
I didn't find the crossgrade info, we have a DNS 2000 lay down on rack without any use we are happy with WNS but We know is not the same.

Thanks
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-05-2016, 03:16 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,079
Default Re: PT 12 HD + Cedar DNS 2000

Contact Cedar. The WNS is but a very pale shadow. The DNS One sounds identical to the hardware. Protect your capital investment - you won't regret it.
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-05-2016, 05:03 AM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: PT 12 HD + Cedar DNS 2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIKEROPHONICS View Post
Contact Cedar. The WNS is but a very pale shadow. The DNS One sounds identical to the hardware. Protect your capital investment - you won't regret it.
Thanks
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cedar DNS 2000 rental Norad155 Post - Surround - Video 0 06-10-2009 06:54 PM
Cedar DNS 2000 & Pro Tools 7.1? tandem Post - Surround - Video 10 08-31-2006 08:52 AM
Cedar DNS 2000 not working. Please help! mondoJML Post - Surround - Video 4 05-24-2006 05:58 PM
Cedar DNS-2000 splicestudios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-07-2005 04:57 AM
cedar DNS 2000 krzeszo_TVN Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-26-2004 03:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com