Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2011, 04:14 PM
ryanjantz ryanjantz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default Updating Pro Tools and Mbox from Windows XP to Windows 7

I have got the original MBox with an old Pro Tools 5.3 version that I have had installed on my Windows XP computer and used for years and years. I recently got a new laptop with Windows 7 and I tried to Install Pro Tools from the disk and says I must have Windows XP. It is an old version of Pro Tools, I know, but it is all I need and I don't need or want to buy anything new. Is there any way I can the get or download software with the license that I have that will work for Windows 7??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2011, 04:22 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Updating Pro Tools and Mbox from Windows XP to Windows 7

You have 2 choices here. Say lots of prayers and buy the PT8 software, which MIGHT run your old Mbox on Windows 7 with a USB connection, but I don't hold a lot of hope there as its really not supported. Your better option is to buy a new interface that can run Pro Tools 8.0.4 or newer on Windows 7. That means at least the Mbox 2 series. There is no sure bet for making the old Mbox work on Windows 7 as it is past its prime(it has no support). You can likely buy a used Mbox 2 with Pro Tools 8, and hopefully the seller can download the updates for you and burn them onto a CD-R. Until(and unless) you are the registered owner of the software, you won't have access to the updates required for Win7. You might consider moving all your old sessions to an external drive and selling the old computer and Mbox as a complete working system(albeit an old one). Somebody might be happy to buy a turnkey setup to get started in recording. Since you are on 5.x, you will be stunned at the improvements in Pro Tools
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
updating Windows? korkman Windows 3 10-24-2011 07:36 PM
11R updating Firmware Windows 7 jrockbridge Eleven Rack 8 09-06-2011 06:48 PM
Updating from LE 6.4 to 7.3 Windows XP blues12 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-22-2008 02:13 PM
Updating to PT v.7.1 on Windows XP Musicalwon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-19-2006 10:57 AM
Updating to Windows XP version of Protools Saul Goodman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-12-2003 12:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com