Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2014, 06:34 PM
crandallwarren crandallwarren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 235
Default PT11/Reaper Rewire workflow?

Hi everyone,

I'm hoping someone can confirm/deny something for me and/or point me in the right direction on this.

So, I'm playing around with Reaper rewired into PT11 to host some of my VI's that aren't AAX yet. I'm curious what people's workflows are. Right now, when I insert Reaper on an instrument track, I seem to have to create a separate midi track to actually play the VI in Reaper-- the audio of which then comes up on the instrument track. Is this right?

I feel like I should be able to record the midi directly onto the Instrument track, like any other VI.

Also, I'm just curious.. When using reaper as a rewire slave, do you tend to record the midi data into pro tools or do you record it in Reaper and use Pro Tools to play it back?

Thanks very much!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2014, 07:39 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,055
Default Re: PT11/Reaper Rewire workflow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crandallwarren View Post
Hi everyone,

I'm hoping someone can confirm/deny something for me and/or point me in the right direction on this.

So, I'm playing around with Reaper rewired into PT11 to host some of my VI's that aren't AAX yet. I'm curious what people's workflows are. Right now, when I insert Reaper on an instrument track, I seem to have to create a separate midi track to actually play the VI in Reaper-- the audio of which then comes up on the instrument track. Is this right?

I feel like I should be able to record the midi directly onto the Instrument track, like any other VI.

Also, I'm just curious.. When using reaper as a rewire slave, do you tend to record the midi data into pro tools or do you record it in Reaper and use Pro Tools to play it back?

Thanks very much!
Here's a little 'how to' video I did that explains how to set all this up. Hope it helps!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2014, 08:59 PM
crandallwarren crandallwarren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 235
Default Re: PT11/Reaper Rewire workflow?

Great. Thanks very much!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2014, 11:50 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,055
Default Re: PT11/Reaper Rewire workflow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crandallwarren View Post
Great. Thanks very much!
Let me know if you have any questions using it this way.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
REAPER not showing up as plug-in in PT11 frankwisur Pro Tools 11 7 01-04-2014 03:22 AM
Reaper and PT11 Question gtomassetti Pro Tools 11 6 07-27-2013 11:13 AM
ReWire and Reaper PatriotsBiker Windows 10 11-08-2012 05:34 AM
Can you rewire Reaper in 7.4?? Dogcode 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-23-2010 06:50 PM
Reaper Rewire dave911 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 03-06-2010 11:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com