Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-29-2002, 09:31 AM

Default How do I make my CD as loud as a store bought CD?

If you answer, please speak in simple terms, for I am very new to Pro Tools.
I have all the tracks done for my CD, but when i burned the first copy and listened to it in my
car, it was realllllllly quiet. Any helpful hints for loudness?
Old 04-29-2002, 09:51 AM

Default Re: How do I make my CD as loud as a store bought CD?

If you put a limiter on the Master fader of your mix, you'l be able to get the level up to zero or just under. If you have the "Maxim" plug-in, even better. If you have the Waves L1+Ultramaximizer plug-in, even better!!
Get your mix sounding as good as you can, bringing the master fader to a nice "just under red" average level.
On either one of those plug-ins, if you set the OUT CEILING to 0.1 and pull the threshold down slowly, you'll hear the mix get louder.You'll see the ATTENUATION bar start to register a signal. If you keep the ATTENUATION peaks in the -1.00 to -2.00 range, you'll increase volume of the mix and basically preserve the integrity of the mix. This should work fine to answer your question.
You can take it a step further by attenuating more. You'll hear the mix start to pulsate a bit, and it will sound more energetic...but be careful...you're really decreasing the dynamic range more than you think, so you can be fooled.
Getting into the fattening abilities of a Mastering limiter requires advanced scientific audio knowledge and a great ear. Read up on mastering techniques before you dabble.