Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2013, 04:17 AM
groovq groovq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Unhappy Eleven rack won't boot

Hi my eleven rack won't get past the boot screen! I've tried both reset options, unplugged USB etc but still won't get past the boot screen. The serial number ends in 0H

She lives a sheltered life not leaving the office so not misuse! Actually doesn't get used as much as it should!

I'm in Australia and got the unit via avid Australia/new Zealand because of multiple replacement units of another product so there is no retailer to contact for a replacement/fix.

After looking around here it seems quite a common issue. I'm not having much luck with avid and m-audio products it seems! Update: after looking at similar issues hear reminded me about the tuner not being recognised sometimes and stuck on one note.

Maybe I have one of the old dodgy batch

Any ideas for my next step?

Cheers, chris
__________________
i7 MacBook pro, 8GB ram, Eleven rack

Last edited by groovq; 02-24-2013 at 05:27 AM. Reason: Extra info about tuner
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2013, 07:42 AM
kelco83's Avatar
kelco83 kelco83 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: houston
Posts: 140
Default Re: Eleven rack won't boot

Did you have it plugged straight in to the wall or was it on a upc, surge protector etc.?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2013, 07:50 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,204
Default Eleven rack won't boot

This does not seem a common problem.

Have you tried power cycling the Eleven Rack after it is removed from USB (remove the cable from the Eleven Rack entirely).

Have you tried all these... http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ow_To/en344703

Note the clue there as well that if certain buttons on the front panel are faulty/stuck down it can cause what you see. I would check/wiggle those buttons to see if they feel OK, have normal spring/click action and don't feel "worn out" or stuck down.

If that does not work, then it sounds like you already know how to get in touch with Avid Australia to arrange a replacement/repair. If it was mine and out of warranty I would probably open it up and just wiggle around the boards and a check the board interconnect cables and those front panel switches more carefully.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2013, 01:23 AM
groovq groovq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Default Re: Eleven rack won't boot

Yep, tried both resetting options to no avail. All the buttons seem fine.
I thought it maybe the clock issue that I've seen on here since the tuner stuffs up and occasionally there would be no sound from time to time.

No response from avid aus/nz as yet before I consider taking the cover off.

Does anyone know what ending serial number unit had the clock/capacitor issue?

Thanks for the Advice
Chris
__________________
i7 MacBook pro, 8GB ram, Eleven rack
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2013, 01:29 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,204
Default Re: Eleven rack won't boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by groovq View Post
Yep, tried both resetting options to no avail. All the buttons seem fine.
I thought it maybe the clock issue that I've seen on here since the tuner stuffs up and occasionally there would be no sound from time to time.

No response from avid aus/nz as yet before I consider taking the cover off.

Does anyone know what ending serial number unit had the clock/capacitor issue?

Thanks for the Advice
Chris
AFAIK the clock only affected rev E units (the last digit of serial number on rear panel). Yours is a rev H unit so not affected by that, even if it was rev E I suspect this failure to boot has nothing to do with sample clock problems.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-25-2013, 05:00 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,411
Default Re: Eleven rack won't boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
If that does not work, then it sounds like you already know how to get in touch with Avid Australia to arrange a replacement/repair. If it was mine and out of warranty I would probably open it up and just wiggle around the boards and a check the board interconnect cables and those front panel switches more carefully.

Darryl
I don't know if opening the 11R would void the warranty.
Don't discount doing this as my DSI PolyEvolver rack mount synth recently started going bonkers and opening it up and reseating all cables solved the problem. And this is a unit that sits in a rack and doesn't go anywheres. It's not so much that cables magically loosen themselves with a unit sitting in a rack but contacts can get a film on them that makes things intermittent.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-25-2013, 05:52 AM
groovq groovq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Default Re: Eleven rack won't boot

Also noticed the 2 red LEDs near the dsp chips are no longer flashing. The green one still flashes.

All buttons on the front seem fine.

Hoping to hear back from avid soon, maybe they'll repair it out of warranty for me, never know! As mentioned I've had back luck with avid/m-audio hardware failures!

Otherwise I'll try opening it up making sure everything is seated. I'm starting to have withdrawal symptoms!

Cheers,
Chris
__________________
i7 MacBook pro, 8GB ram, Eleven rack
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2013, 12:37 AM
groovq groovq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Default Re: Eleven rack won't boot

Found this post of exactly the same issue. Serial of this guys unit is also 'H'

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=300999
__________________
i7 MacBook pro, 8GB ram, Eleven rack
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-28-2013, 01:30 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Eleven rack won't boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by groovq View Post
Also noticed the 2 red LEDs near the dsp chips are no longer flashing. The green one still flashes.
that doesn't sound good!

Has Avid responded to your inquiry yet?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-28-2013, 07:09 PM
groovq groovq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Default Re: Eleven rack won't boot

Not yet, giving them another call today. I've reverted to my old line6 tonePort in the mean time but after the eleven rack its well....yuk!

Ya never miss ya water till ya dry!
Chris
__________________
i7 MacBook pro, 8GB ram, Eleven rack
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack won't Boot ac30fan Eleven Rack 21 08-03-2015 08:40 PM
Eleven Rack window responds to changes on Eleven Rack, unable to record. pine Eleven Rack 6 08-02-2012 07:50 PM
Eleven Rack and Eleven Rack control window not matching 11R Newbie Eleven Rack 3 04-18-2012 06:07 PM
Eleven Rack not recognized after a OS boot or reboot. tengai Eleven Rack 2 02-28-2012 08:39 PM
Eleven Rack won't boot completely cachosjazz Eleven Rack 4 11-13-2010 11:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com