Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-08-2009, 06:32 PM
nod25 nod25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: BrisVegas, AUS
Posts: 1,013
Default Re: cs3 - yes, it is there

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
You won't see any optimizations in a cs release, as the required work is more extensive and requires more testing than what's in the scope of cs fixes.

We are working on them, though.
OK. I guess that makes sense :)

I know you're working on them

Thanks for that DigiTechSupt
__________________

--------------------------------------------------


Why do people keep running over a string a dozen times with their vacuum cleaner, then reach down, pick it up, examine it, then put it down to give the vacuum one more chance?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-08-2009, 06:36 PM
loosestones loosestones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 58
Default Re: cs3 - yes, it is there

Well thanks Digi for fixing all these problems. I really enjoyed how Protools crashed, then we had a Kernal Panic when it first started up.

The Workspace is still completely F**KED!! Try playing any music through this corrupted junk and it will fry our computer everytime.

It makes me sick to think how many issues we've had with PT8 and how many hours, money and sleep everyone at this studio has lost, due to:
poor design - inserts F-J dont work from the outset
poor testing - countless bugs when released
& poor support - its taken months for a fix for these problems and its still not working properly.

That said, it has great potential. Hopefully we can get back to making music sometime in the next couple of years when the expensive software we've bought into is fixed.

LSS
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-08-2009, 07:07 PM
loosestones loosestones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 58
Default Re: cs3 - yes, it is there

And here is the crash log...

OSX 10.5.5
Ptools 8.0cs3
6 GB ram
ALL Plugins updated to latest versions
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Process: Pro Tools HD [737]
Path: /Applications/Digidesign/Pro Tools/Pro Tools HD.app/Contents/MacOS/Pro Tools HD
Identifier: com.digidesign.ProToolsHD
Version: 8.0cs3 (8.0.0f341)
Code Type: X86 (Native)
Parent Process: launchd [103]

Date/Time: 2009-06-09 11:21:23.176 +1000
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.5.5 (9F33)
Report Version: 6

Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGBUS)
Exception Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE at 0x0000000000000158
Crashed Thread: 0

Thread 0 Crashed:
0 ...gidesign.framework.ProTools 0x01cf0ed1 0x1c51000 + 655057
1 ...gidesign.framework.ProTools 0x01cf269b 0x1c51000 + 661147
2 ...gidesign.framework.ProTools 0x01d21217 0x1c51000 + 852503
3 ...gidesign.framework.ProTools 0x01dcb008 0x1c51000 + 1548296
4 ...gidesign.framework.ProTools 0x01dd028b 0x1c51000 + 1569419
5 com.digidesign.framework.BUI 0x0475e87f BUI_Audition::StartAudition(std::list<Cmn_AliasedR efCountPtr<BDM_Key, BDM_Key*, Cmn_AliasedRefCountPtrDefaultForwardDeclarationHac k<BDM_Key> >, std::allocator<Cmn_AliasedRefCountPtr<BDM_Key, BDM_Key*, Cmn_AliasedRefCountPtrDefaultForwardDeclarationHac k<BDM_Key> > > > const&, double, BUI_BinView*, bool, bool, bool) + 123
6 com.digidesign.framework.BUI 0x0477e4a7 BUI_Browser::StartAuditionOnSelection() + 301
7 com.digidesign.framework.BUI 0x047e105f BUI_WorkspaceBrowser::SelectionChanged(BDM_Tree*, bool) + 129
8 com.digidesign.framework.BUI 0x04772971 BUI_BinView::SelectRows(long, long, bool, bool, bool, bool) + 371
9 com.digidesign.framework.BUI 0x0478d4dd BUI_BrowserMgr::RestoreBrowsers() + 19017
10 com.digidesign.framework.BUI 0x047d0ff5 non-virtual thunk to BUI_RelinkBrowser::Update(Sys_LazyObject_Message&) + 14293
11 com.digidesign.framework.DFW 0x008c3853 TView::HandleMouseDown(VPoint const&, TToolboxEvent*, _CPoint) + 683
12 com.digidesign.framework.DFW 0x008c366f TView::HandleMouseDown(VPoint const&, TToolboxEvent*, _CPoint) + 199
13 com.digidesign.framework.DFW 0x008c366f TView::HandleMouseDown(VPoint const&, TToolboxEvent*, _CPoint) + 199
14 com.digidesign.framework.DFW 0x008c366f TView::HandleMouseDown(VPoint const&, TToolboxEvent*, _CPoint) + 199
15 com.digidesign.framework.DFW 0x008c366f TView::HandleMouseDown(VPoint const&, TToolboxEvent*, _CPoint) + 199
16 com.digidesign.framework.DFW 0x008c366f TView::HandleMouseDown(VPoint const&, TToolboxEvent*, _CPoint) + 199
17 com.digidesign.framework.DFW 0x008c366f TView::HandleMouseDown(VPoint const&, TToolboxEvent*, _CPoint) + 199
18 com.digidesign.framework.DFW 0x008b250a TWindow::HandleMouseDown(VPoint const&, TToolboxEvent*, _CPoint) + 170
19 com.digidesign.framework.DFW 0x008b8ca0 TWindow::SetConfig(TWindowConfig::EScreenConfigTyp e, Cmn_PolymorphicHandle<TWindowConfig, TWindowConfig>) + 9424
20 com.digidesign.framework.DFW 0x008b9762 TWindow::SetConfig(TWindowConfig::EScreenConfigTyp e, Cmn_PolymorphicHandle<TWindowConfig, TWindowConfig>) + 12178
21 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x93e38303 DispatchEventToHandlers(EventTargetRec*, OpaqueEventRef*, HandlerCallRec*) + 1181
22 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x93e3773d SendEventToEventTargetInternal(OpaqueEventRef*, OpaqueEventTargetRef*, HandlerCallRec*) + 405
23 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x93e54092 SendEventToEventTarget + 52
24 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x93e66268 ToolboxEventDispatcherHandler(OpaqueEventHandlerCa llRef*, OpaqueEventRef*, void*) + 1208
25 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x93e386bc DispatchEventToHandlers(EventTargetRec*, OpaqueEventRef*, HandlerCallRec*) + 2134
26 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x93e3773d SendEventToEventTargetInternal(OpaqueEventRef*, OpaqueEventTargetRef*, HandlerCallRec*) + 405
27 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x93e54092 SendEventToEventTarget + 52
28 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x93ec0c60 ToolboxEventDispatcher + 86
29 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x93ebd4ba RunApplicationEventLoop + 222
30 com.digidesign.framework.DFW 0x009431a9 DFW_EventLoop::RunApplicationEventLoop() + 11
31 com.digidesign.framework.DFW 0x008e1615 TApplication::Run() + 45
32 ...gidesign.framework.ProTools 0x02893e82 LaunchProTools + 2266
33 com.digidesign.ProToolsHD 0x00007fdf 0x1000 + 28639
34 com.digidesign.ProToolsHD 0x00002a72 0x1000 + 6770
35 com.digidesign.ProToolsHD 0x00002999 0x1000 + 6553
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-08-2009, 07:15 PM
GeneOuse GeneOuse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 614
Default Re: cs3 - yes, it is there

Horizontal scroll - not fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-08-2009, 07:20 PM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 526
Default Re: cs3 - yes, it is there

RTAS still sucks.

Expansion HD chassis issues STILL NOT FIXED!!!!! Crashed 4 minutes into the first launch.

You have got to be kidding me.

Rob Burrell
aka mixboy
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-08-2009, 08:52 PM
ajastudios ajastudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York/Los Angeles
Posts: 162
Default Re: cs3 - yes, it is there

What kind of computers do you people have, cardboard boxes?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-08-2009, 09:29 PM
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Re: cs3 - yes, it is there

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNielsen View Post
"Fixed: Intermittent crashes during playback or record
So either our computers will never crash again or they will constantly crash.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-08-2009, 09:32 PM
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Re: cs3 - yes, it is there

Is it worse for anyone or just not better?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-08-2009, 09:33 PM
DCommand DCommand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 100
Default Re: cs3 - yes, it is there

We really need an optimation on the RTAS, please hurry up
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-08-2009, 10:00 PM
loosestones loosestones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 58
Default Re: cs3 - yes, it is there

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post
Is it worse for anyone or just not better?
Hi Kenny,

It is worse as far as playback in the workspace window goes, and the same so far for tracking / editing.

LSS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com