Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Old 05-22-2013, 12:58 PM

Default All Artist Mix won't power on users...come on in.

Hello, first of all, this is NOT about trying to bash AVID customer support in ANY way. What this is about is trying to get symptoms and causes and a possible solution to this, what seems like, a common problem with these units. I recently had my second failure of this type in 3 months and have just recently received my unit back. I will begin by saying that AVID has been great in getting the problem fixed, the second time they even let me ship the unit back using thier account. I used to be a field service engineer for Neve in NYC and have extensive user-side experience in console far more complicated than an Artist Mix, however that doesn't mean I'm an expert, and the saying goes, a little knowledge can be dangerous. This is about trying to understand the problem from the users perspective, shed some light on it's cause via usage and/or installation, and to possibly give AVID a broader 'heads up' to the problem, even though I'm sure they are 'painfully' aware of it.

ref. example thread: Artist Mix won't power up.

It seems the cause of the problem in my case is a ferrite on the PCB right where the power enters the board. The first time it went, a piece cracked off it's entire length and there may have been some fracture somewhere I couldn't see. The second time it was split down the middle. On both occasions it appears this was the only component replaced. These are catastrophic failures most likely caused by a large current, or spike...whether it emanates from the PSU, or comes in on the ground could be the answer. I don't have schematics, so understanding the problem systemically is moot.