Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-18-2020, 06:02 AM
AE AE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 466
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Bi-directional stuff slammed will make your ears turn around.
could you elaborate on what you mean by this?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-18-2020, 06:09 AM
AE AE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 466
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbarnesiii View Post
The room is a bit dead sounding honestly, as it’s in a small rehearsal room that’s been pseudo soundproofed so as not to hear bands in other rooms down the hall.

That said, I’d still like to capture the room sound and mix it in with the close mics. I feel some natural atmosphere can be achieved to the mix.
i've listened to numerous room mics recorded in small dead spaces, and have yet to hear one i'd want to use in a mix. just sayin...
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-18-2020, 07:05 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,466
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by AE View Post
could you elaborate on what you mean by this?


You need to try it yourself


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-18-2020, 07:18 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,397
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
But Slate ... No f’ing way! Sound harsh and not fun at all.
I didn't know. Thanks, I'll keep an ear on that

Sent from my SM-N975W using Tapatalk
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-18-2020, 08:09 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,837
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
I didn't know. Thanks, I'll keep an ear on that

Sent from my SM-N975W using Tapatalk
I am sending you the Clariphonic tonight if you still need it

Been working and been in thailand Koh Samui visiting my house checking that my investment is safe and sound.

But have time to fix that today.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-18-2020, 01:29 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,284
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by AE View Post
i've listened to numerous room mics recorded in small dead spaces, and have yet to hear one i'd want to use in a mix. just sayin...

+1 on this. If the room is dead, just use overheads and be done with it. You can always add a little room verb on the various pieces of the kit.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-18-2020, 01:41 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,534
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
+1 on this. If the room is dead, just use overheads and be done with it. You can always add a little room verb on the various pieces of the kit.
This^^^ is worth some experimentation. In my Nashville studio, I always recorded room mics, but rarely ever used them in a mix. Instead, I would send to a stereo AUX track and use a room reverb. 9 times out of 10, IK Classik room verb worked great(pop/rock/country). Once in a while, an EMT plate worked better(bluegrass or "old" country). My studio had a smallish drum room(more of a booth) and there's not much point in recording a space that doesn't sound killer

Example here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JdKBcleNLWk
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-18-2020, 09:14 PM
johnbarnesiii johnbarnesiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 123
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
My favorite under-rated mic: Shure SM81.


I recently bought two of them to use as overheads! Haven’t tired em yet, but glad that someone else speaks highly of them. Can’t wait to give em a whirl!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-18-2020, 10:04 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,837
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbarnesiii View Post
I recently bought two of them to use as overheads! Haven’t tired em yet, but glad that someone else speaks highly of them. Can’t wait to give em a whirl!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You’ll be surprised when you hear them as room mics and or overheads!! Great and rarely used cause I think people don’t know much about them. Good call!
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-18-2020, 10:36 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,466
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Second that. Just remember to turn the HPF on, and keep it on, as its lowend is not nice


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What level should i keep my drums so theres enough room for editing? rockguitarist1255 Pro Tools 10 16 02-18-2012 10:03 AM
Dead room + Drums harlll Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-12-2004 10:39 PM
Treating a room for drums. Travis Mitchell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-19-2004 02:32 AM
I need 2 room mikes for drums digigirly Tips & Tricks 21 07-14-2002 12:29 AM
Drums in big recording room. Joz Tips & Tricks 23 05-25-2002 09:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com