Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2020, 12:08 AM
DrewHarrison DrewHarrison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Corona
Posts: 48
Default Auto-Save Not Working Properly

I get PT crashes about 3-7 times a day on average, and I have it set to auto-save every 1 minute. However, after a crash when I check the backed up sessions the newest session is usually somewhere between the last 10 minutes and 45 minutes... not even close to every minute.

Anyone else getting this? I'm losing a lot of work here.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1
OS X 10.14.6 (Mojave)
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
2.5 GHz 12-core Intel Xeon E5
32GB of 1866MHz DDR3 RAM
1Tb SSD hard drive
Antelope Orion 32+
UAD-2 Satellite OCTO Core (thunderbolt)

Last edited by DrewHarrison; 12-01-2020 at 05:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2020, 05:01 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,644
Default Re: Auto-Save No Working Properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrewHarrison View Post
I get PT crashes about 3-7 times a day on average, and I have it set to auto-save every 1 minute. However, after a crash when I check the backed up sessions the newest session is usually somewhere between the last 10 minutes and 45 minutes... not even close to every minute.

Anyone else getting this? I'm losing a lot of work here.



Hi,


Auto backup only works when the transport is stopped. so expect you were working with the session playing for 10mins or 45mins etc.


get in the habit of hitting save.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2020, 08:59 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,264
Default Re: Auto-Save No Working Properly

Agree! We have had some problems aswell in the past with autosave as if we have big sessions running and automation etc the session could get problematic if autosave was trying to save.

We save every 3-5 mins by ourse๖ves and we know it will be done when sessions are stopped and wont get corrupted should a crash occur.

Turn it off and do the saves by yourself is my advice to stay out of the crash issue
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2020, 10:03 AM
DrewHarrison DrewHarrison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Corona
Posts: 48
Default Re: Auto-Save Not Working Properly

I'm usually 'in the zone' getting great mixes and automation done at the time. i.e., by best work, and then it's all gone.

How am I supposed to remember to stop and hit save when I'm in the zone? The world disappears and I am emersed in the music just moving faders, eq moves, automation, etc. Even if I set an alarm to remind me it would break the flow. Any ideas?

It needs to just save.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1
OS X 10.14.6 (Mojave)
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
2.5 GHz 12-core Intel Xeon E5
32GB of 1866MHz DDR3 RAM
1Tb SSD hard drive
Antelope Orion 32+
UAD-2 Satellite OCTO Core (thunderbolt)

Last edited by DrewHarrison; 12-01-2020 at 05:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2020, 11:38 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,644
Default Re: Auto-Save No Working Properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrewHarrison View Post
I'm usually 'in the zone' getting great mixes and automation done at the time. i.e., by best work, and then it's all gone.

How am I supposed to remember to stop and hit save when I'm in the zone? The world disappears and I am emersed in the music just moving faders, eq moves, automation, etc. Even if I set an alarm to remind me it would break the flow. Any ideas?

It needs to just save.

Hi,


Just stopping the transport for a second will allow it to save. I know what you mean and we've all had times when we get involved and forget, but just try to remember to save your work as you go and don't do too much or leave it too long.


If you have instruments that have samples and sound sets to save, this can cause the save to take longer and can cause issues itself.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-01-2020, 12:09 PM
DrewHarrison DrewHarrison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Corona
Posts: 48
Default Re: Auto-Save Not Working Properly

What about using a macro that will hit Cmd+S at the interval of my choosing?

If I have to hold a "don't forget to..." statement in my head as I'm trying to listen to what the song wants, I'm not listening to what the song wants, I'm instead listening to the statement "don't forget to..."
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1
OS X 10.14.6 (Mojave)
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
2.5 GHz 12-core Intel Xeon E5
32GB of 1866MHz DDR3 RAM
1Tb SSD hard drive
Antelope Orion 32+
UAD-2 Satellite OCTO Core (thunderbolt)

Last edited by DrewHarrison; 12-01-2020 at 05:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-01-2020, 05:12 PM
DrewHarrison DrewHarrison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Corona
Posts: 48
Default Re: Auto-Save Not Working Properly

It happened again twice in the last hour, last saved over 15 minutes ago after lots of changes. I'm trying to remember to stop and save, but I'm listening to music. If I remember to save I forget to listen to the music. This is nuts.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1
OS X 10.14.6 (Mojave)
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
2.5 GHz 12-core Intel Xeon E5
32GB of 1866MHz DDR3 RAM
1Tb SSD hard drive
Antelope Orion 32+
UAD-2 Satellite OCTO Core (thunderbolt)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-01-2020, 05:36 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,156
Default Re: Auto-Save Not Working Properly

Ctrl-S is a second-nature reflex for many of us I don't know if this relates to your rig, but I had a session today that threw an error message that it couldn't do an auto-save because one of the .bak files was corrupted. At first, I thought that's easy....I'll just delete that .bak file. But when I went to the Session Backup folder, it would not open(and gave me another error). Then I thought, I'll just delete the Backups folder, but that threw the same error message. After thinking about it for a few minutes, I tried to rename the folder and that worked(I added xxx in front of the folder name).

I also opened the session and did a Save Session Copy so I had a complete backup(but without any Auto-backups). Later, I opened both versions and each created a new backup folder and things worked fine after that. I still can't delete the renamed folder, but the newly created backup folder has a dozen fresh backup files from today.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-02-2020, 05:29 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,035
Default Re: Auto-Save Not Working Properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrewHarrison View Post
I'm usually 'in the zone' getting great mixes and automation done at the time. i.e., by best work, and then it's all gone.

How am I supposed to remember to stop and hit save when I'm in the zone? The world disappears and I am emersed in the music just moving faders, eq moves, automation, etc. Even if I set an alarm to remind me it would break the flow. Any ideas?

It needs to just save.
I know I've joked about but it really isn't a joke - this is why the thumb and fingers of my left hand are bent in the shape of cmd-S and it's auto muscle memory to do a save as often as I can. It's part of my 'in the zone' thing.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-02-2020, 06:10 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,644
Default Re: Auto-Save Not Working Properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrewHarrison View Post
It happened again twice in the last hour, last saved over 15 minutes ago after lots of changes. I'm trying to remember to stop and save, but I'm listening to music. If I remember to save I forget to listen to the music. This is nuts.



Hi,


First, you could write a keyboard shortcut in the Mac prefs/keyboard/shortcuts and under app shortcuts you can assign the command "Save As..." exactly as it is written in the pro tools menu Save As... then assign this command to something easier maybe Shift+Z which are next to each other.



Or get something like a shuttle or games controller that you can assign commands to and use that.


Fortunately my control surface has a flashing red button


Second, You need to troubleshooting why you're system is crashing so often. what are the crash logs saying?




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools First will not save my tracks properly Itsjake Pro Tools | First Discussion 6 04-27-2019 05:55 PM
Bug? "Save A Copy In" not working properly GeorgeA Pro Tools 12 5 09-15-2017 12:10 PM
(-50) ERROR on Save / Auto Save oldrake macOS 1 10-14-2013 04:30 PM
"Save Session Copy In..." not working properly Meads Pro Tools 11 2 07-20-2013 10:15 AM
HELP! 'Save Copy In" not working properly in v.7 Sebastien Bedard Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-06-2006 10:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com