Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2010, 08:59 PM
xcevinx xcevinx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midwest, USA
Posts: 11
Default Solo/Solo-Safe dilemma

I have imported a 38-track session into Pro Tools 9 with the intent of comparing mixing functionality to Sonar 8.5. The solo mode in PT has me pulling my hair out to say the least...

A simple example - say I have these Drum tracks routed in the following order:

(6) Audio tracks (Kick, Tom1, Tom2, Snare Top, Snare Bottom & Hi-Hat)
(1) Aux Track (Drums Bus)
(1) Aux Track (Sub Master)
(1) Master Fader

If I want to solo only the Kick in the Drum Bus, how can one (easily) do that?

I have the (6) Drum Audio Tracks 'Solo-Safe' enabled (so the Drums Bus will Solo) but then I cannot Solo the individual Drum Audio Tracks. Is there a key command I am missing to be able to do this?

Thank you in advance!
__________________
Pro Tools 9.0.0: Custom PC, Windows 7; Motu HD192
Sonar X1b: Custom PC, Windows 7; Motu HD192
Logic Pro 9.1.1: MacBook Pro, OSX 10.6.3; MBox2 Pro
Cubase 6.0.0: Custom PC, Windows 7; Motu HD192
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2010, 09:04 PM
tghrs tghrs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 50
Default Re: Solo/Solo-Safe dilemma

I did the same thing with 8.5.3 and PT9. I haven't figured out the key shortcuts yet, but if I recall, there is. Honestly the bus/aux routing in PT seems to be more intuitive than SONAR, but for the most part it is exactly the same.
__________________
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit
DAW: Protools 9 & Sonar Producer 8.5
CPU: AMD Phenom X4 940 3GHz
RAM: Kingston 1066 DDR2 4GB
MoBo: ASUS M3A78
Video: Saphire ATI Radeon 4850HD 1GB
Other: UAD-2 Duo

Interface: Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 & Firestudio Mobile
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2010, 09:13 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Solo/Solo-Safe dilemma

leave the audio tracks un-safe
safe the Aux'es
make a group for the drum audio tracks but only link the solos nothing else so when you want all the drums activate the group when you want just one track leave the group inactive
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2010, 10:28 PM
xcevinx xcevinx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midwest, USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: Solo/Solo-Safe dilemma

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
leave the audio tracks un-safe
safe the Aux'es
make a group for the drum audio tracks but only link the solos nothing else so when you want all the drums activate the group when you want just one track leave the group inactive
Thank you for the quick reply That did work.

PT has has the most obnoxious means of soloing!!! What is the benefit to having the solo routing configured this way (other than getting carpal tunnel syndrome from all the additional clicking)?
__________________
Pro Tools 9.0.0: Custom PC, Windows 7; Motu HD192
Sonar X1b: Custom PC, Windows 7; Motu HD192
Logic Pro 9.1.1: MacBook Pro, OSX 10.6.3; MBox2 Pro
Cubase 6.0.0: Custom PC, Windows 7; Motu HD192
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2010, 08:06 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,632
Default Re: Solo/Solo-Safe dilemma

Quote:
Originally Posted by xcevinx View Post
What is the benefit to having the solo routing configured this way (other than getting carpal tunnel syndrome from all the additional clicking)?
It mimics the way it's been done on analog boards for decades. How's it done in Sonar? I must admit, I wish there were a keyboard shortcut for
"Solo selected track(s)." And another for "Mute selected track(s)." And solo/mute would change tracks when you selected a different one. In combo with "Link Track and Edit Selection," you could run down through all your tracks with the arrow keys, soloing or muting them one at a time without touching that mortal bane of all thumbs, the mouse/trackball.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.10 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.10 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-2010, 12:27 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Solo/Solo-Safe dilemma

Quote:
Originally Posted by xcevinx View Post
Thank you for the quick reply That did work.

PT has has the most obnoxious means of soloing!!! What is the benefit to having the solo routing configured this way (other than getting carpal tunnel syndrome from all the additional clicking)?
go HD or get CPTK for the VCAs
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-07-2010, 02:42 PM
denka's Avatar
denka denka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 577
Default Re: Solo/Solo-Safe dilemma

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
go HD or get CPTK for the VCAs
+1
__________________
AVID HD Native PCIe + HD OMNI; Digidesign 192 I/O (2x) & 96 I/O; Icon QCON Pro & QCON EX; Softube Console 1; NI Kontrol 25; Arturia SparkLE; UAD-2 Satellite DUO; UAD-2 PCIe DUO; Tascam DA-3000; TK Audio BC1-S; Warm Audio WA76; SSL XLogic Alpha Channel (x2); SSL X-PATCH; Lindell Audio 6X-500, 7X-500 & PEX-500 (all x2), lots of TCE & Lexicon reverbs; VintageMaker LittleOne 16/2 Summing Mixer; MUTEC MC3+ SmartClock; Mac Pro (2009) 8 Core 2.26; 24 Gb RAM; Pro Tools HD 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-07-2010, 02:47 PM
tghrs tghrs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 50
Default Re: Solo/Solo-Safe dilemma

In Sonar you can select a group and then hit SHIFT + CLICK the track you want to individually solo. OR you can CTRL + CLICK only the tracks you want to quick mute leaving the primary soloed. OR ...you get where I'm going here. There are probably about 15 different methods of grouping/soloing that it is almost overwhelming. That is one of the larget appeals with the SONAR platform. The workflow is SO customizable that it can be easily taylored to fit YOUR needs. If they had better sidechaining abilities, I would not have switched to PT9.
__________________
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit
DAW: Protools 9 & Sonar Producer 8.5
CPU: AMD Phenom X4 940 3GHz
RAM: Kingston 1066 DDR2 4GB
MoBo: ASUS M3A78
Video: Saphire ATI Radeon 4850HD 1GB
Other: UAD-2 Duo

Interface: Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 & Firestudio Mobile
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-07-2010, 03:14 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,632
Default Re: Solo/Solo-Safe dilemma

It might just be a matter of learning the different paradigm and keyboard shortcuts. In PT you only have to click the Solo or Mute button of the track you want, no shift or control necessary, and without selecting any groups first. You can solo or mute any set of tracks you like with one modified click. You can unsolo or unmute everything at once with one modified click. It's actually about as convenient and intuitive as it could be.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.10 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.10 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-07-2010, 07:50 PM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 363
Default Re: Solo/Solo-Safe dilemma

Quote:
Originally Posted by daeron80 View Post
I must admit, I wish there were a keyboard shortcut for "Solo selected track(s)."
There is: shift-S, or opt-shift-click the solo button. (Mute: shift-M or opt-shift-click mute button.) As you mention, you have to have "Link Track & Edit Selection" turned on. Or am I misunderstanding what you're asking for?

~peter in oakland
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
solo safe mikeyman Pro Tools 10 14 06-10-2013 10:19 AM
Protools 10: mute and solo aren't working. (Solo safe is not on any of the tracks.) charlottewrinch macOS 2 04-14-2012 06:32 PM
is there a way to reverse solo safe? AdamPT8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-04-2010 07:44 AM
Solo Safe bug??? PT 8.0.1 cs teacherman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-20-2010 10:15 AM
what is solo safe cyndiek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-03-2009 12:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com