Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2016, 01:31 PM
aftermid aftermid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: miami, Fl. USA
Posts: 144
Default AES/EBU vs Analog

OK,
I guess this may be a dumb question, but Avid Tech support hasn't replied to this.

I have an Omni HD going to a Mackie SR32 Analog board. The back of the Omni has two DB25pin plugs one is analog the other EBU/AES. The cable I have is 25pin going to 8 Male XLR jacks.

I looked at the pin soldering diagram for both in the manual and it seemed the same for both.

So which output should I use? Is there a difference? Would connecting to the wrong 25pin analog or EBU damage the system? How do I know if my cable is EBU or just a regular analog cable?

Thanks in advance for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-06-2016, 02:12 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,218
Default AES/EBU vs Analog

Analog is analog. AES/EBU is digital. Your db25 snake is made for analog since it has 8 male XLRs. The SR32 isn't digital so can only do analog. I think that rules out the AES/EBU jack.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2016, 11:47 PM
aftermid aftermid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: miami, Fl. USA
Posts: 144
Default Re: AES/EBU vs Analog

Could the same snake be used on a digital board going from the EBU jack to a digital board, since the pin wiring is the same, assuming it's not a Tascam or Yamaha board, where there pin wiring is different?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2016, 07:28 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,737
Default Re: AES/EBU vs Analog

No the actual snake is different.
Think of it in the same way a Mono RCA cable that you would use on your home stereo CAN'T BE USED on a SPDIF connection on your OMNI.

The same way a standard analog cable/snake can't be used for AES/EBU b/c it's a digital signal and it needs a different snake (and cable materials)

Now you can find them on ebay pretty cheap....I bought mine (digidesign) branded....for $40.

Nice thing about that digital cable is you can use it full duplex (I hope that is a applicable/understandable term).....coming and going.....think reamping your eleven rack ect. At least on my HD io I have it like that.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2016, 10:15 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,365
Default Re: AES/EBU vs Analog

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
same way a Mono RCA cable that you would use on your home stereo CAN'T BE USED on a SPDIF connection on your OMNI
That is in fact incorrect.

Cheap one-dollar RCA cable can be used on a SPDIF if cable length is short enough, as in digital connection is stable enough. Digital connection is nice because whenever it works, it works 100% but if it fails, it also fails 100%.

So if it works, it's good to go, but using a one-dollar cable you have no idea how close to disaster you are...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2016, 10:17 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,365
Default Re: AES/EBU vs Analog

Quote:
Originally Posted by aftermid View Post
Could the same snake be used on a digital board going from the EBU jack to a digital board, since the pin wiring is the same, assuming it's not a Tascam or Yamaha board, where there pin wiring is different?
Yes, but you would need male/female converters because analog input/output snakes only have female/male plugs whereas AES/EBU have 4 male 4 female
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2016, 10:41 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,737
Default Re: AES/EBU vs Analog

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
That is in fact incorrect.



Cheap one-dollar RCA cable can be used on a SPDIF if cable length is short enough, as in digital connection is stable enough....

Wow, never worked for me. But You can bet it's not recommended
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2016, 10:54 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,257
Default Re: AES/EBU vs Analog

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Wow, never worked for me. But You can bet it's not recommended
Ive experimented with a wire coat hanger, and it worked.
As previously stated, it either works 100% or not.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-07-2016, 12:13 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,737
Default Re: AES/EBU vs Analog

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
Ive experimented with a wire coat hanger, and it worked..

Wow that's cool.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-07-2016, 12:39 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,397
Default Re: AES/EBU vs Analog

AES cables should use 110 Ohm cable, and usually have "110 Ohms" and/or "AES/EBU" printed on the jacket. An XLR connector carries 2 channels of AES/EBU, where a standard balanced mic/line cable will only carry 1 channel per XLR.

SPDIF cables should use high quality 75 Ohm coaxial cable. They are wired the same as standard RCA cables, but the quality of the cable is very important. Don't assume a thick cable with gold plated ends is always high quality. I have cut many of these open that looked the same on the outside but some "high end" cables had minimal shielding and a very thin/weak center conductor. I have seen store bought cables with horrible soldering too. The best way to know what you have is to make your own cables.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digidesign 192 Analog Input Card and Analog output Card for Sale MusicEngineer Buy & Sell 1 03-03-2014 09:03 AM
Digidesign 192 16 analog in 8 analog out juneaudio Buy & Sell 0 02-19-2014 10:39 PM
Digidesign with analog preamps vs analog console?? Lukassus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-20-2005 01:13 PM
Interfacing 888 analog output with analog console Siegfried Meier Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-12-2003 01:26 PM
Getting that perfect Analog sound without analog gear remote Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 03-28-2003 12:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com