Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2012, 12:00 PM
Weird Audio Weird Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 99
Default OMNI inserts only for mic pre , or used as master buss inserts as well

Are the omni inserts only useful for the built in mic pre , or can they be used as hardware inserts for the master buss.
Im thinking they are only for the built in mic pre , is this assumption correct.

If possible AVID should consider my idea . It would make the OMNI allot more versatile . Two hardware inserts on the master buss for EQ and COMP . What could be a better fit than that.

That would relieve the OMNI as being sold as primarily a i/o unit to a serious contender for a dedicated monitor controller with enough i/o to feed headphones . With that idea the OMNI could be seriously considered as the most practical choice available for all our monitoring and h/p mix needs.
Unless super exotic monitor controllers are the only acceptable decision .
The OMNI would be easily the best product available .
I slight twist on a already good product to make it a great product , that the market does not already have but really needs.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2012, 08:26 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: OMNI inserts only for mic pre , or used as master buss inserts as well

The inserts are only for the mic pre's.

However, you can still set up an insert with the Omni just like you would with any other hardware interface.

You can use outputs 3-4 and come back into inputs 3-4, and then on your master track, select an insert, and select "I/O" instead of plugin, and there you go. This is the same way you would do it with any other interface.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2012, 09:52 PM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,000
Default Re: OMNI inserts only for mic pre , or used as master buss inserts as well

The inserts are on the pre-amp so they can be before any A to D conversion.
Perfect place for them IMO.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro Dual Hex Westermere 3.6Ghz, 24gig Ram, Pro Tools HD Native 2018.4, Sierra, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2012, 09:27 PM
Weird Audio Weird Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 99
Default Re: OMNI inserts only for mic pre , or used as master buss inserts as well

I suppose that is the best place for them .
When I was changing monitor cables I noticed it said insert . I thought cool maybe this is a dedicated master buss insert because its near the monitor outs.
Or at least thats what I was hopping it would be . LOL

Thanks I should have just read the pdf but I thought thats what it would say anyway, so really I was just wondering if there was a trade trick to using it in a different way. I doubt I will use those pre,s much but there has been times when I have and surprisingly they were usable as a utility pre.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compressor with Omni - Inserts or Patchbay? Cliffy_Boy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-28-2011 11:09 AM
Master Fader Inserts richardlewisx macOS 11 11-25-2011 06:39 AM
OMNI physical I/O question (inserts) Picture Start Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 11-03-2011 12:41 PM
protools mix buss/inserts and peak levels soundispatch 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 06-13-2004 07:12 PM
Master inserts are post-fader? Was: L1+ on Master = clipping s2n Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 11-20-2001 07:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com