Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Old 04-08-2002, 12:15 AM

Default using a stand alone cd burner with pro tools?

well thats basically it. I was just wondering if its possible to optically connect a stand alone cd burner to the digi 001 unit. is there an optical out on the box or anything like that? If there isnt, can you connect the two via analog connection? Im not sure that i am being perfectly clear. Can anyone help (im a newbie, i havent even purchased a pro tools rig yet...im still looking at the options)
Old 04-08-2002, 12:30 AM

Default Re: using a stand alone cd burner with pro tools?

Just get a CD burner in the host computer? Mac or Windoze .... I prefer Mac but both have CD burners as standard these days.
Old 04-08-2002, 12:53 AM

I went with the CD burner in my PC too, but if you want to go with a stand alone CD burner (HHB, Sony, Tascam...) you can connect it using the SPdif output on the breakout box, and send digital signal to the burner without any further D/A A/D conversion.

L.G.
Old 04-08-2002, 10:36 AM

yeah i understand that it would make sense to go with an internal cdr drive but im building a computer for pro tools digi 001 and i dont already have an internal burner but i do have a stand alone burner so every little bit of money saved is a good thing if ya get my drift. So you guys dont see any problems with hooking up a standalone to the 001? are there any pros or cons? I have a philips unit by the way....welp, thanks for the replies
Old 04-08-2002, 01:27 PM

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by jacko32: