Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2001, 07:53 AM
digi2000 digi2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 306
Default DIGI please design us a current config that works

Ok,

I have already reviewed the compatibility documents

here is the deal I am about to purchase a Mix Plus and Control 24 to be run under windows 2000. I would really love to know what you guys are using for your Hardware with particular attention to the SCSI adapter and hard Drives.
Also do you run your drives internal or in an external enclosure. Other than the obvious benifits of running them externally, is there any performance difference in running the drives internal.
If I can get away with not having to buy a Glyph right now, I would love to save some money as I am trying to get the purchase down as low as possible.

Thanks for the input.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2001, 11:25 AM
nodell nodell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: princeton, nj usa
Posts: 57
Default Re: DIGI please design us a current config that works

i don't believe there should be any performance difference in running internal vs. external SCSI drives (at least not as far as PT is concerned). As for SCSI controllers I'm running the Adaptec 29160 and an external enclosure holding 2 seagate 4 gig drives. works without a problem.

you can certainly save yourself some money by buying an enclosure and adding drives as you need them Dirt Cheap Drives has all parts etc... that you would need and it will definitely cost you less than Glyph.

- neil
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2001, 08:36 PM
steve at Your Heaven steve at Your Heaven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 657
Default Re: DIGI please design us a current config that works

I have 2 external Digidesign 9Gig drives, which I got with the original Mix Plus system. Six months ago, I added an internal Seagate 36 Gb drive. I have never noticed a difference, and have recorded 24 tracks to it without finding a problem. This is using an Adaptec 2940 UW scsi card, in a Dell XPS T, PIII 500mhz, 640 RAM (worked with 256, too), on WinNT (PT5.0.1) and Win2k (PT 5.1).
__________________
steve
Your Heaven
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2001, 12:26 AM
digi2000 digi2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 306
Default Re: DIGI please design us a current config that works

Thanks for the input.

The good news is I am a PC resseller so I am getting the drives for cost anyway. While I am at it I might as well get myself an Antec Rackmount case and just dump it all in there. I was propably going to get that SCSI card but Sweetwater led me to believe I needed something for $500.00 I would muchrather spend $200 for the controller and $200 a piece for the drives.

what is the config on your system


Thanks for all the help,

David [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2001, 05:39 AM
digi2000 digi2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 306
Default Re: DIGI please design us a current config that works

Thats Good to hear, I will probably go with (2) 18Gb 10K Cheetah Drives internal with an adaptec 19160 U160 Card. The whole deal will cost me around $600.00 for the controller and drives, which is about $1500.00 less than the Glyph 2 unit rack adapter and 1 Drive.
What kind of track count can I get with these 2 Drives?

Thanks for all the help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-2001, 06:38 AM
steve at Your Heaven steve at Your Heaven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 657
Default Re: DIGI please design us a current config that works

I don't know the track count, but as I said, I got 24 tracks recording at once on the single interior drive. Beware of several Digi warnings to NOT use the system/program drive for audio. I say this because you intimate 2 interior drives, and that often means the two available bays in many boxes, one of which is the system drive.
__________________
steve
Your Heaven
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2001, 09:24 AM
digi2000 digi2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 306
Default Re: DIGI please design us a current config that works

Thanks, Steve,

I am getting a new cage. I will in fact have (4) Drives. I wll put the system files on the EIDE 20GB and the OS. Then I will use the 2 SCSI drives for Audio and propabply use the 2nd ide drive as a kind of Backup Drive for other stuff.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New IMAC config that works! mrgroovy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-15-2011 09:12 PM
Massenburg design works users, can you test 4 me crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 02-05-2006 12:01 PM
Massenburg design works users, can you test 4 me sirpucho Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-14-2006 11:42 AM
Massenberg Design Works vs Sony Oxford EQ W/ GML ryan de topanga Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-10-2005 06:28 PM
Opinions on current config swinginguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-04-2001 09:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com