Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2012, 07:32 AM
Jason Raboin Jason Raboin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 32
Default Venue 3.0 - Logic Pro 8 problem

I recently upgraded my SC48 to Venue 3.0 software. I have not updated to Pro Tools 10, so I have not changed the firewire driver in my Mac Mini. Everything is working perfectly with Pro Tools 8, but Logic 8 no longer works. It opens but will not play, and unexpectedly quits after a few moments. When I change the hardware to "built in", Logic 8 works fine.

The only thing that has changed is the Venue software. It seems odd that without changing drivers on the computer that it would no longer speak to the console properly.

The reason I use Logic is that I can use the firewire to simultaneously record a live show and use SpectraFoo. Pro Tools 8 will not let you simultaneously use the firewire for other applications. I have not tried SpectraFoo with Venue 3.0 yet.

If Pro Tools 10 will share the firewire with SpectraFoo I will just upgrade and be done with Logic.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2012, 07:54 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: Venue 3.0 - Logic Pro 8 problem

Did you overwrite VENUE FWx firmware for 32 IO or just updated VENUE to V3?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2012, 10:09 AM
Jason Raboin Jason Raboin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 32
Default Re: Venue 3.0 - Logic Pro 8 problem

I just updated Venue to 3.0. I did nothing to the computer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2012, 10:17 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: Venue 3.0 - Logic Pro 8 problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Raboin View Post
I just updated Venue to 3.0. I did nothing to the computer.
There are two things you can do to the actual console with FWx card, you can upgrade the desk to V3 and within the desk, you can upgrade the FWx card to be able to provide 32 channels of IO. I'm thinking if you did not upgrade firmware for the FWx (using your computer) there is little reason for your system to act any different than it did before
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2012, 01:04 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Venue 3.0 - Logic Pro 8 problem

Hi Jason,

As digidesigner mentions there should be nothing about the VENEU 3 update that affects FWx, if you haven't updated the FWx firmware. Can you try using other apps with FWx (e.g., iTunes), to see if the behavior's constant across other apps when using CoreAudio?

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Venue FWx Problem mightyeskimo VENUE Live Sound Systems 14 12-23-2013 11:05 AM
Odd plug-in problem VENUE mbm1987 VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 04-02-2013 10:11 AM
Venue 3.0 installation problem brinnbacka VENUE Live Sound Systems 9 11-04-2012 08:08 PM
Question with Logic and Venue RI1470 VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 05-24-2009 03:16 PM
Logic and Venue Firewire emeraldtour VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 01-14-2009 11:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com