Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2001, 09:07 PM
stickstome2 stickstome2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: owensboro, ky
Posts: 281
Default alesis ai3

Hey does anybody use this unit for more tracks to record. Are they good? Are they better than usind a regular adat with light pipe? and since they are around 4oo bucks if I went to a 1200 dollar ad converter with light pipe will i notice the 800 dollar difference----I need to add that extra 8 inputs to my 001 for a good price and great sound.
thanks stix.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2001, 09:58 PM
phattrax phattrax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 39
Default Re: alesis ai3

I haven't used the alesis, but have looked at them. I have heard very good things about them and believe you will be happy. But, if you already have an adat why not just use it? Another option (if you want to spend that $1200), would be a presonus digimax or a yamaha 01V. The Presonus is an 8 channel preamp with optical out giving you more preamps in addition to added channels. The 01V is a digital mixer with an optional adat card, thus giving you preamps and front end dynamics and processing, not to mention automation, scene memory, and other uses besides a front end to protools. [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2001, 02:57 PM
Drastikpup1 Drastikpup1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: St. Paul
Posts: 151
Default Re: alesis ai3

Stick with the AI3 I have used it before and it sounds fine...

Save a couple dollars

Justin L.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2001, 11:25 PM
Aussie169 Aussie169 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Leongatha, Vic, Australia
Posts: 1,869
Default Re: alesis ai3

There's been a lot of debate about whether the AI3 converters are 20 bit or 24 bit. Does anyone know for sure? [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2002, 04:28 AM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: alesis ai3

I looked at the alesis-site and found that they claim its 24-bits.

here's the link:
http://www.alesis.com/products/ai3/index.html
Bastiaan
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-01-2002, 04:43 AM
Aussie169 Aussie169 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Leongatha, Vic, Australia
Posts: 1,869
Default Re: alesis ai3

Bastiaan
Been there, done that.
I'm thinking that maybe earlier versions were 20 bit because there have been people on the DUC in the past claiming that they have a 20 bit version and their documentation says so.
Just wondering if anyone knows for sure.
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-01-2002, 04:32 PM
MikeD MikeD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Sioux Falls, SD, USA
Posts: 179
Default Re: alesis ai3

Mine is a 24 bit converter. I got it about a year and a half ago.

Sound quality is good. I find myself running through the AI-3 more often than using the Digi analog inputs because I like the AI-3 sound better. For $399, it was well worth it.
__________________
Mike Dresch
Cathouse Productions
www.elbo.net/cathouse
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alesis DM5 and SD2 Hamdi The Drum Room 1 04-05-2011 09:52 AM
888/24 vs Alesis AI-3 smack Tips & Tricks 2 03-25-2003 07:07 PM
Alesis AI-3 Duhduh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 01-26-2002 08:33 PM
Alesis Ai3 Datus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 01-19-2002 07:34 AM
alesis qs6 hitwriter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-01-2001 04:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com