Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2020, 02:18 AM
louisenslinproduce louisenslinproduce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south africa
Posts: 308
Default NMacPro 16 Core or 24 Core

HI Guys. I would love some input and advice on this.



I have read quite a few articles regarding clock speed vs core count and that Protools doesn't really take advantage of all the cores. Also I see Avid posted that the new 24 and 28 core Mac Pros can cause CPU errors when using low buffer sizes o n HDN?


So 2 questions:


1: Lets assume cost is not an issue ( it is, but lets assume) Will the 24 core machine out perform the 16 core machine?


( I use and HDX system )


2: Regarding VI's, currently I have a separate drive with all my VI samples loaded. Would it be beneficial to get the 8Tb internal SSD option on the NMac Pro and install all the VI samples essentially on the system drive? Or maybe partition the internal HD ( If you can with the new T2 chip) and install all the vi samples on that so they'll be running off the SSD



Sorry one more. If I go with the 16 core, maybe investing in an additional HDX can to help with processing power, mind you most of my pluggins are native, so maybe all that would allow is a higher voice count? Or is that a complete waste?


Thanks in advance.
__________________
Louis Enslin
PT HDX 2
PT Latest
2020 Mac Pro 16 Core
386 GB Ram

www.louisenslin.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2020, 02:51 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 286
Default Re: NMacPro 16 Core or 24 Core

I have the 16 core and it is ridiculously powerful.
I would go with that.
__________________
James Richmond
http://www.uptheoctave.com
Audio Production Reviews and Technique

Latest article for Pro Tools Expert:
"Why I decided to buy an Avid MTRX"

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...y-to-avid-mtrx
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2020, 03:02 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,698
Default Re: NMacPro 16 Core or 24 Core

If cost is not an issue, more powerful machine is obviously more powerful. But if it is, I would invest my money in more internal SSD than more than 16 cores.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-2020, 03:15 AM
louisenslinproduce louisenslinproduce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south africa
Posts: 308
Default Re: NMacPro 16 Core or 24 Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by octatonic View Post
I have the 16 core and it is ridiculously powerful.
I would go with that.



Thanks James


So I would defiantly feel the difference from my current 12 core 2013 trashcan?
__________________
Louis Enslin
PT HDX 2
PT Latest
2020 Mac Pro 16 Core
386 GB Ram

www.louisenslin.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2020, 03:20 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,698
Default Re: NMacPro 16 Core or 24 Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by louisenslinproduce View Post
So I would defiantly feel the difference from my current 12 core 2013 trashcan?
I think so. As per everymac.com the Geekbench4 scores are:

2019 16-core:
- Single Core 5197
- Multi Core 56861

2013 12-core:
- Single Core 3343
- Multi Core 25124
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2020, 03:20 AM
louisenslinproduce louisenslinproduce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south africa
Posts: 308
Default Re: NMacPro 16 Core or 24 Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
If cost is not an issue, more powerful machine is obviously more powerful. But if it is, I would invest my money in more internal SSD than more than 16 cores.



Thanks Janne


Would you know why the 24 and 28 core machines have CPU errors on the HDN systems as per Avids info?


Im currently on a 12 core 2013 trashcan, and its been amazing over the past 6 years. But a friend of mine with a similar setup but the 6 core actually told me that when he researched it, the less cores, but higher clock speeds work better with protools.


Would you know if theres any research to back this, or does more cores = more performance withing protools specifically?


Thanks so much




side note, I mainly do post ( high track counts )I often mac my voice count out with my 1 x HDX card. And do a fair amount of composition with VI's .


So Im wondering of investing in another HDX card and getting the 16 core instead of the 24 core and only having the 1 HDX card. Maybe better idea?
__________________
Louis Enslin
PT HDX 2
PT Latest
2020 Mac Pro 16 Core
386 GB Ram

www.louisenslin.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2020, 03:22 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,698
Default Re: NMacPro 16 Core or 24 Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by louisenslinproduce View Post
Would you know why the 24 and 28 core machines have CPU errors on the HDN systems as per Avids info?
Maybe a timing issue. What I have understood is the 24/28 core machines use faster memory than the "slower" versions. HDN has been discontinued and reported being problematic so cannot really say what is the real problem there.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-2020, 03:36 AM
louisenslinproduce louisenslinproduce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south africa
Posts: 308
Default Re: NMacPro 16 Core or 24 Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Maybe a timing issue. What I have understood is the 24/28 core machines use faster memory than the "slower" versions. HDN has been discontinued and reported being problematic so cannot really say what is the real problem there.



Thanks Janne


Sorry, did you say HDN is dinscontinued? So will there only be HDX?
__________________
Louis Enslin
PT HDX 2
PT Latest
2020 Mac Pro 16 Core
386 GB Ram

www.louisenslin.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-03-2020, 03:52 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,698
Default Re: NMacPro 16 Core or 24 Core

HDN PCI-express card is discontinued, HDN ThunderBolt box is still being sold
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-03-2020, 04:44 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 220
Default Re: NMacPro 16 Core or 24 Core

The 24 and 28 core have lower base clocks compared to the 16 core. But all 3 have the same 4.4 GHz turbo boost for pushing single core speeds (as reflected in the same single core geekbench scores). How this affects Protools real world performance is probably a different story but I highly doubt it's worth the extra 5000,-(!).
All I would want is faster audiosuite rendering, I can play large sessions (i'm in post) just fine on my old 5.1 cheesegrater since forever.

Regarding HDX, I would go either HDX2 or HD Native with voice packs. HDX1 is less powerful (for me) compared to Native since the entire card is filled with 'mixer' and I cant even run dsp plugins and there is extra delays due to switching native plugins to dsp mixer. You will need HDX2 though if you want 128 IO for Dolby Atmos.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade 6 core Mac Pro to 12 core, or sell Mac Pro for 8 core iMac Pro? jaminjamesp macOS 3 12-13-2019 01:16 PM
Upgrade my 6 core 2013 MacPro to a 12 core, or get a new 6 core when released? jaminjamesp macOS 2 03-15-2019 03:26 PM
Macbook Air 2014 (1.4ghz Dual-core Intel core i5 Vs. Mid 2010 MBP i7 Quad-Core and PT TheGoodhusbands Virtual Instruments 2 09-11-2015 10:49 AM
Intel Core i7 2.0GHz Quad-Core Processor or Intel Core i7 2.7GHz Dual-Core Processor? okodub Pro Tools 9 3 09-23-2011 07:33 AM
Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core John Peeples Tips & Tricks 9 11-07-2007 03:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com