Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2016, 10:36 AM
David Revill David Revill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 11
Default Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

Hi guys, Does anyone have any insight into the compatibility of the new Touch Bar feature offered in the new generation of Mac Book Pros? When Pro Tools is the focus, would we be able to use the Touch Bar in the way we currently can the physical function keys (for modes, tools, rec, wait for note and all that good stuff)? Is there an equivalent to "use F1, F2 etc. as standard function keys" in the OS keyboard system preferences when a Touch Bar is present? I'm in the dark as I haven't had the opportunity to get my hands on one of these yet, and certainly not with a PT install.
Whatever the situation this close to release I see great possibilities for the future, though...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2016, 10:44 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,406
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

I would be more worried that your PT version (whatever it is as you don't have and info on that) would work with Sierra.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2016, 11:30 AM
David Revill David Revill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 11
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I would be more worried that your PT version (whatever it is as you don't have and info on that) would work with Sierra.
Thanks Jack - Yes, I didn't say (for the sake of brevity) - I'm assuming a version of PT which works with Sierra, formal compatibility statements aside. (I've had no problems with 12.5 so far, though I actually have a Mavericks system to hand in case I hit a poisoned Easter egg!)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2016, 12:22 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,305
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

Guess we'll just have to wait and see if PT will support the new touch bar and offer its own short cut keys.

In the meantime, check out this Apple Support Article on the touch bar. It seems that all the familiar function keys will be available and work the same.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2016, 07:42 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,815
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

Since it is possible to customize the touch bar, perhaps someone can build a scheme that will be ideal for Protools workflow in the short term. I know it may be limited to what is available in the builder for now but it may be useful s=for some. Hopefully future releases of Protools will take advantage of the touch bar feature.

Some ideas may include transport buttons, a scrub bar, arming buttons, switching from mix to edit screens, plugin parameter adjustments, virtual instrument parameter adjustments, auditioning virtual instruments, midi pitch wheel or mod wheel entry, pitch correction, guitar strumming entry, mini midi keyboard, drum pad zones, etc.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.6 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-22-2016, 04:55 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,406
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

I have one usage that would be killer for the touch bar - the pitch bend ribbon on a CS80
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-22-2016, 02:15 PM
jpellizzi jpellizzi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 49
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

I have the touch bar 13" with PT 12.6 on Sierra.

Currently it doesn't do anything - just the usual system controls appear and you have to hold Fn in order to show the F1-F12 keys, which is one extra step.

You can configure it to have the F keys always on I believe, but I haven't bothered. It would be awesome though to show Shuffle/Slip/Spot/Grid etc on the top bar. Also being able to scroll through a session, scrub, use it as a MIDI sampler. Automation and plugin controls. Lots of potential here, but the question is will anyone bother to code it?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-23-2016, 07:16 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,815
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

It would be great if Avid took up the challenge but we have seen some pretty innovative folks here that might want to give it a try. I can envision a library of tough bar schemes for different workflows (post, tracking, editing, video, mastering, sound design, etc.). It'll be great if there was a library for users to choose what they need.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.6 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-23-2016, 09:45 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,406
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
It would be great if Avid took up the challenge but we have seen some pretty innovative folks here that might want to give it a try. I can envision a library of tough bar schemes for different workflows (post, tracking, editing, video, mastering, sound design, etc.). It'll be great if there was a library for users to choose what they need.
The success of the TouchBar along these lines will depend on how difficult or open Apple is making development for it. I wonder if there's something in a UNIX developer's toolkit that would help?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-06-2016, 09:40 AM
Glazik Glazik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 99
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

I own a 15" "TouchBar" MBP, and for now, I can have the standard fonction keys as usual (no use of the fn key modifier).
Go to pref/keyboard/Shortcuts/Fonction keys (translated from french) and add the apps you want to have the F1, F2...keys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When will the late 2013 retina Mac Book Pros be qualified? tomatonose Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 05-25-2014 03:53 PM
2010-2012 Mac Pros, Imacs, and Macbook Pros do multi-channel HDMI audio out! nst7 Post - Surround - Video 3 07-15-2013 04:37 PM
ProTools and The New Mac Book Pros! toddamo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-12-2012 02:41 PM
Touch to select on MC mix, does control touch screen follow? Led Artist Series 0 03-24-2011 05:36 AM
Red Book VS Orange Book>>what's the difference? dex Tips & Tricks 0 10-19-1999 12:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com