Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2016, 03:38 PM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default SSD performance

I'm starting fresh with 10.10.5 and PT12HD. If I bought a SSD for my system drive but my 3 other drives, video, audio and samples are still SATA will I see much of boost from a SSD system drive? Thanks!
__________________
Mac Pro 2012 12-Core 2.4GHz RAM 48GB
Native 2018.3 HD_OSX 10.12.3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2016, 03:49 PM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: SSD performance

Yes.
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2016, 04:01 PM
PMF Media PMF Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 381
Default Re: SSD performance

Ditto. You'll notice a huge difference. I've installed OWC SSD's into 2 seperate Mac Pro 3,1's (2008) and they've reinvigorated the machines, almost like sitting down in front of a new Mac Pro 6,1.

Personally, I like the OWC stuff, they're easy to deal with and will supply EVERYTHING you need to make the upgrade happen and even have great "how to" videos on their site.

Just as aside, I didn't upgrade the SATA controller on either of the machines and simply installed the SSD's in the 2nd optical bay, and as I said, the difference was huge.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2016, 04:04 PM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default Re: SSD performance

LOL. All the info coming at me. You can connect a SSD to the optical bay?
http://blog.macsales.com/19935-makin...etter-than-new
^^^That had a lot of great info.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2016, 04:08 PM
PMF Media PMF Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 381
Default Re: SSD performance

Yes, with the mount/caddy and cable supplied by OWC. Just email them with your info and what you want and they'll give you a detailed quote, shouldn't cost more than a few hundred (depending on the capacity of the SSD).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-2016, 04:15 PM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default Re: SSD performance

I found this: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MMP35T25/
Seems like I would see double the performance just swapping it out this way. The PCIe adapter is faster but not sue I want to deal with that. I didn't realize my biggest bottleneck was the storage. Thanks for the info everyone!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2016, 05:26 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default Re: SSD performance

I bought my first ssd over 5 years ago. It was one of the first Intel SSD's. From that day forward I've always had an ssd as my system drive. And with prices as they are now, there's no reason not to IMO.

I really wish I had a newer pc with pcie 3.0. You can get some silly fast pcie SSD's.
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-2016, 06:33 PM
PMF Media PMF Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 381
Default Re: SSD performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intransit View Post
I found this: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MMP35T25/
Seems like I would see double the performance just swapping it out this way. The PCIe adapter is faster but not sue I want to deal with that. I didn't realize my biggest bottleneck was the storage. Thanks for the info everyone!
Yep, that work for 2009 (4,1) up not for the 2008 (3,1) which I have.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-04-2016, 06:39 PM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default Re: SSD performance

I have a Mid 2012 (5,1) I'm considering this: http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/P...sior/S-Carrier

It would free up a spot for a second clone and looks like faster speed then putting the SSD in the regular hard drive bay.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-04-2016, 09:21 PM
PMF Media PMF Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 381
Default Re: SSD performance

Not familiar with this one, but, the choice is yours.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro Performance master-fader macOS 0 11-21-2011 02:08 PM
Cant I do anything about performance G4 OSX mersisblue 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 07-10-2004 02:30 PM
performance LadyElectrikStudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-13-2003 01:30 PM
OS 9 and X performance Larryboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 01-07-2003 07:20 PM
what can i add to my g4. for better performance? search-one 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-17-2000 04:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com