Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-06-2016, 02:33 PM
TimothyJohn TimothyJohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, United States
Posts: 223
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

I could care less about the touch bar. How about the magsafe charger connection? Or enough usb to carry an interface, iLok, and midi kb? But no, in order to pull off a session, you need a hub. And a power outlet. so much for portability.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-06-2016, 05:01 PM
jjamesbomb jjamesbomb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 72
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glazik View Post
I own a 15" "TouchBar" MBP, and for now, I can have the standard fonction keys as usual (no use of the fn key modifier).
Go to pref/keyboard/Shortcuts/Fonction keys (translated from french) and add the apps you want to have the F1, F2...keys.
YES !! my hero...thanks man
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-07-2016, 12:56 AM
Glazik Glazik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 99
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjamesbomb View Post
YES !! my hero...thanks man
You're welcome !
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-07-2016, 03:20 AM
Glazik Glazik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 99
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

I have to record some stuff in 96/24 soon. I just tested my new MBP with an UFX card. With 64 tracks in play, 64 tracks in record, I can have a buffer of 64 samples. No plugs in my test.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-07-2016, 08:48 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,815
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimothyJohn View Post
I could care less about the touch bar. How about the magsafe charger connection? Or enough usb to carry an interface, iLok, and midi kb? But no, in order to pull off a session, you need a hub. And a power outlet. so much for portability.
The touch bar MacbookPros have 4 USB3 ports (1-Power Charger, 2-Interface, 3-iLok, 4-midi kb) no hub required. But you'll need up to three adapter dongles. Didn't the previous Macbook pro also only have 4 USB ports? My 2011 MBP only has 2 USB ports. I do wish they came up with some magsafe connector for USB3 however.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.6 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-07-2016, 09:27 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,184
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
The touch bar MacbookPros have 4 USB3 ports (1-Power Charger, 2-Interface, 3-iLok, 4-midi kb) no hub required. But you'll need up to three adapter dongles. Didn't the previous Macbook pro also only have 4 USB ports? My 2011 MBP only has 2 USB ports. I do wish they came up with some magsafe connector for USB3 however.
It's actually likely easier to hang a hub off one USB-C port and attach the iLok and MIDI keyboard and interface to that than have multiple separate USB-C dongles. Performance will likely be just fine.

USB-C magsafe, wot like this? https://www.amazon.com/Griffin-Break.../dp/B01CQTK6GU

The stupid frigging touch bar. Such an awful thing, as a heavy user of the vi text editor, I tried out one of he new MBP for a while but I really hate the touch Esc key. And think the whole touch bar is a useless gimmick. The whole mechanical keyboard feels awful, another thing from Apple just getting worse over the years, oh well I'd just use an external keyboard for most stuff. I will be disappointed if Avid waste anytime on supporting the touch bar. They have much more useful things to do like fix bugs.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 12-07-2016 at 09:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-22-2016, 02:00 PM
TimothyJohn TimothyJohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, United States
Posts: 223
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
The touch bar MacbookPros have 4 USB3 ports (1-Power Charger, 2-Interface, 3-iLok, 4-midi kb) no hub required. But you'll need up to three adapter dongles. Didn't the previous Macbook pro also only have 4 USB ports? My 2011 MBP only has 2 USB ports. I do wish they came up with some magsafe connector for USB3 however.
And no way to install an internal 2nd ssd/media drive. And to use external drives, you need a hub. Or maybe an interface with two t-bolt ports. Some do, some don't. Most external drives do not. With my i7, 17" MacBook pro, I can run an ext. t-bolt drive, firewire 800 drive, usb Scarlett 1802i interface, iLok, and kboard. In the express port I use a UA solo laptop sharc processor. But I could attach esata drives instead. And I can remove the superdrive and install an internal ssd drive. In Apple's neurotic/psychotic quest for skinny laptops, they discard eminently usable features. I know all about the PC paradigm, but I can't allow myself to fund an antivirus company, waste processor power, just to run the computer.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-22-2016, 10:57 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,184
Default Re: Touch Bar on new Mac Book Pros

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimothyJohn View Post
And no way to install an internal 2nd ssd/media drive. And to use external drives, you need a hub. Or maybe an interface with two t-bolt ports. Some do, some don't. Most external drives do not. With my i7, 17" MacBook pro, I can run an ext. t-bolt drive, firewire 800 drive, usb Scarlett 1802i interface, iLok, and kboard. In the express port I use a UA solo laptop sharc processor. But I could attach esata drives instead. And I can remove the superdrive and install an internal ssd drive. In Apple's neurotic/psychotic quest for skinny laptops, they discard eminently usable features. I know all about the PC paradigm, but I can't allow myself to fund an antivirus company, waste processor power, just to run the computer.
eSATA? SATA storage? You need to get over that slow old technology. It archival/backup stuff nowadays.

The tradeoff now with the new MBP is (at least with the high-end 15" ones) you have 4 x Thunderbolt 3 ports over two separate Alpine Ridge chips so finally some real modern IO performance on a recent Mac with up to 40Gb/s per link and that is going to encourage a whole new generation of PCIe based external SSD storage. Which kinds makes that you can't get inside these thin toys and update the disk less of an issue. But still if you want internal storage you just have to pay thought the nose and buy as much as you can afford inside the MBP, the 2TB disk is expensive but it's very high perforamnce PCIe/NVMe modern strorage. Should be easily usable for samples, sessions and boot by almost all users especially with disk cache.

For most port expansion I expect folks to take a single USB-C port and run to a desktop dock or a USB-C/Thunderbolt monitor and from that multipel things like keyboard, mice, slower drives, iLoks, slow old Firewire, etc etc. leaving several USB-C/Thunderbolt ports for direct high-performance connections. The sad thing is these MBP have muvh better Thunderbolt IO that the stupid Mac Pros.

Yep I'm thinking about getting a new MBP, part of my delay is wether I want to pay $$$ for that on board 2TB or not. And I'm upset that they don't have 32 GB memory.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When will the late 2013 retina Mac Book Pros be qualified? tomatonose Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 05-25-2014 03:53 PM
2010-2012 Mac Pros, Imacs, and Macbook Pros do multi-channel HDMI audio out! nst7 Post - Surround - Video 3 07-15-2013 04:37 PM
ProTools and The New Mac Book Pros! toddamo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-12-2012 02:41 PM
Touch to select on MC mix, does control touch screen follow? Led Artist Series 0 03-24-2011 05:36 AM
Red Book VS Orange Book>>what's the difference? dex Tips & Tricks 0 10-19-1999 12:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com