Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 12-01-2016, 10:53 AM
mbafmike's Avatar
mbafmike mbafmike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Frankfurt/Germany
Posts: 32
Default Re: Should we install 12.6.1?

THANK YOU AVID! :)

Finally the Core Audio Driver works!!!!!!!!!!

I'm on a mid-2010 MacPro, Sierra 10.12.1, PT12.6.1 HD, Logic Pro X 10.2.4 and all works!!! No GUI-lag, no error messages etc.

It works and thanks to the Core Audio driver I now can listen to music, or watch Youtube or whatever on the Internet and hear the sound via my Avid Audio Interface. :)

*ugh*
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 12-01-2016, 11:13 AM
beatlogik beatlogik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 50
Default Re: Should we install 12.6.1?

Very exciting news indeed.

Can anyone comment on whether the Native Instruments compatibility bug (Guitar Rig, Maschine Standalone) is solved with the new HD driver?

The previous workaround was to delete the Avid CoreAudio plugin to enable use of these products.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 12-01-2016, 11:15 AM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 880
Default Re: Should we install 12.6.1?

I'm sorry, but i don't remember very well, but I do remember there was a new license in my account. If you don't have it, I wouldn't surrender the existing one. And I also had to install the latest iLok manager and synchronize. My apologies, but that's all I remember. I was pretty upset at the time.


Quote:
Originally Posted by homebasesound View Post
Thanks Dean, I read all ilok license issues, but i can't figure it out how to surrender my old license! Do I simply deactivate it in the ilok license manager? Also there is no perpetual license anywhere on my ilok!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 12-01-2016, 11:28 AM
theom theom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA. USA
Posts: 358
Default Re: Should we install 12.6.1?

So is the Core Audio control app gone now? I am seeing Native HD as an available output and its working. But in the old days there was a separate core audio floating window to change settings hardware settings etc.

Is this all done via audio midi settings now?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 12-01-2016, 01:43 PM
29CountsNY's Avatar
29CountsNY 29CountsNY is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Posts: 547
Default Re: Should we install 12.6.1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by theom View Post
So is the Core Audio control app gone now? I am seeing Native HD as an available output and its working. But in the old days there was a separate core audio floating window to change settings hardware settings etc.

Is this all done via audio midi settings now?
From what I can tell, yes. I had the same reaction last night. Was used to launching that prior to any other DAW. Going to have to get used to this now, but I'm not complaining!!!
__________________
www.montabonsound.com
www.29counts.com

Pro Tools HD 2019.12 | HD Native PCIe & HD Native Thunderbolt | Lynx Aurora 16 HD | HD I/O | Digi 192 | 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core 3.46ghz | macOS Mojave 10.14.4 | 48 gigs RAM | Tascam DM3200 | Crane Song Avocet II | Antelope Isochrone OCX | Universal Audio Quad & Duo | Waves Mercury + Studio Classics v10 & Abbey Road Collection
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 12-01-2016, 03:37 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,397
Default Re: Should we install 12.6.1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbafmike View Post
THANK YOU AVID! :)

Finally the Core Audio Driver works!!!!!!!!!!

I'm on a mid-2010 MacPro, Sierra 10.12.1, PT12.6.1 HD, Logic Pro X 10.2.4 and all works!!! No GUI-lag, no error messages etc.

It works and thanks to the Core Audio driver I now can listen to music, or watch Youtube or whatever on the Internet and hear the sound via my Avid Audio Interface. :)

*ugh*
Good for you guys!

Now Avid, can we please have the sample rate issues fixed with Windows?
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 12-01-2016, 04:17 PM
TimothyJohn TimothyJohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, United States
Posts: 223
Default Re: Should we install 12.6.1?

I asked this on another thread. I have PT 12.6 running fine on MacBook Pro i7 OSX 10.8.5. Is it ok to install 12.6.1? Or do I have to update to Mavericks or Sierra?
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 12-01-2016, 04:46 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,305
Default Re: Should we install 12.6.1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimothyJohn View Post
I asked this on another thread. I have PT 12.6 running fine on MacBook Pro i7 OSX 10.8.5. Is it ok to install 12.6.1? Or do I have to update to Mavericks or Sierra?
The last version of PT that was qualified on 10.8.5 was 12.4. But if 12.6 is running okay for you, then 12.6.1 should too. It's always a good rule of thumb to do a full backup of your current, stable system before upgrading just in case something does go wrong.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 12-01-2016, 05:08 PM
rinky rinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 242
Default Re: Should we install 12.6.1?

Just installed. First error within a minute is (drum roll): -9173. Surprise!!
And yes. A clean install, etc., etc.
Ironically, 12.6 was more stable for me.
__________________
PT Ultimate 2020.5
PT HDX
MacPro 7,1
16 Core
96 GB ram
OS X Catalina 10.15.5
Somehow, musicians are now technicians!
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 12-01-2016, 07:29 PM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 515
Default Re: Should we install 12.6.1?

this 'surrender' of licenses thing confuses me.

If one decides to reinstall 12.4 or 12.5 after the 12.6.1 update, will it WORK?
or is that license gone?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install PTHD 8.1.1 udater on Win7x64 and says valid install not found 8.0.3 is there rnygren Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 10-25-2014 10:58 PM
Mountain Lion/PT Install/Ilok install problems alex obradovic macOS 7 07-14-2013 06:19 PM
First install of Pro Tools 9 - Logic 9 already installed - PlugIn install questions b-pole macOS 2 08-31-2011 07:23 AM
Can't install Pro Tools LE - Insert disc but no option to install Paul McConnell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-22-2010 08:13 AM
Newb install question: Install seems to complete and than freezes ginsuthaironchef 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-02-2009 03:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com