Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-24-2020, 03:58 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,554
Default Re: Will PT202x have Midi 2.0?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philthy View Post
I like the way MIDI is implemented in ProTools. It's the best inline MIDI editing implementation that I'm aware of.

I would like to see it kept bug-free and responsive. There have been versions where certain features were broken (realtime volume controller response, for example) or there were problems with slowdowns editing & displaying data. And of course problems with hosting VI's at low buffers.

Every time people get into a discussion about what PT MIDI is missing in terms of features, it sounds like a lot of esoteric stuff that I don't need or even want. I think Avid did a good job of implementing MIDI in a way that played off existing strengths (great clean UI, great inline editing.) I can see how some people might want an arpeggiator or drum channel, and if they can do it without introducing bugs, I wouldn't care either way. Been a MIDI user since 1991 or so. Wow, coming on 30 years. :0
Same here with some of the extra 'features' people talk about. Talking about broken MIDI - how about the way the MIDI event list got screwed up with every version past 2019.6? That's the last one the event list worked right. Started a support case with Avid and they've been able to repro the problems, particularly with deleting multiple events at one time. That's why I stayed there even given that later versions of PT have track folders which I'd like to make use of.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeOtherGuy View Post
Having come from DP and then Logic, I like Pro Tools MIDI, and I don't need it to do a lot. But a few very basic edit capabilities would be great.

In the Main Edit Window (not MIDI editor), if you cut an area in the middle of a sustained MIDI note, nothing happens to the actual note, just the block gets cut.

In other software such as Logic Pro, an option window appears that says "Do you want to keep, shorten, or split the notes that cross the point where the region is being split."

Can we have this functionality in Pro Tools?
I picked up on DP when Avid started the subscription nonsense. It's an efficient program cpu usage-wise but it's MIDI editing is a right pain in the butt. You can't move blocks of MIDI data around like in PT. No true instrument tracks and an overly busy gui with small fonts. Phooey on that. I'll take PT's MIDI workings over DP any day of the week.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-24-2020, 05:32 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,412
Default Re: Will PT202x have Midi 2.0?

I absolutely LOATHE the way the dow/up arrow keys are now sometimes "Set selection start/end during playback" but sometimes "Move selected MIDI note up/down", depending on whether you happen to have "notes" view on or not. Absolutely rotten piece of engineering.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-27-2020, 01:51 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 748
Default Re: Will PT202x have Midi 2.0?

I still say the cursors in the midi edit window are too hard to see, but other than that I like it the way it is.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 2019.6 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-27-2020, 03:34 PM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 730
Default Re: Will PT202x have Midi 2.0?

Apart from midi 2 I would be happy to see a fix for the rounding error on midi. I'm maintaining pt updated (by spending about 400 per year) and I still work on pt11 because of this.
__________________
Avid HDX - Avid HD I/O 16x16 Analog - Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 - Cubase Pro 10
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram - Mac OS 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-28-2020, 11:13 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,702
Default Re: Will PT202x have Midi 2.0?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philthy View Post
I like the way MIDI is implemented in ProTools. It's the best inline MIDI editing implementation that I'm aware of.
Huh. I guess it's all in what you need. There are still many MIDI features I miss from Power Tracks Pro on Windows in the early 1990s. It was a $15 program at the time, probably like $30 now. And Studio Vision blew everything away until Gibson (may they rot forever) bought Opcode and promptly killed it. I still wonder who had what on whom to make that happen.

In terms of current top tier DAWs, Logic makes most types of MIDI production far quicker and more convenient than PT does. It's almost universal among film composers to write in Logic and export stems for someone to mix in PT.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2020.9.1 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Mojave
PT 2020.9.1 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-30-2020, 06:52 AM
Philthy Philthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,277
Default Re: Will PT202x have Midi 2.0?

Quote:
Originally Posted by daeron80 View Post
Huh. I guess it's all in what you need. There are still many MIDI features I miss from Power Tracks Pro on Windows in the early 1990s. It was a $15 program at the time, probably like $30 now. And Studio Vision blew everything away until Gibson (may they rot forever) bought Opcode and promptly killed it. I still wonder who had what on whom to make that happen.

In terms of current top tier DAWs, Logic makes most types of MIDI production far quicker and more convenient than PT does. It's almost universal among film composers to write in Logic and export stems for someone to mix in PT.
I used Voyetra, Master Tracks, and then Studio Vision for a number of years. Studio Vision Pro was good for the time, and the guy behind it (‎Dave Oppenheim) went on to design the MIDI implementation in ProTools. I believe he still consults for Avid. That may be part of why I generally like the MIDI implementation in ProTools. It many ways it's quite similar to SVP. What features from SVP do you miss?

I have to disagree that Logic is universal for scoring. I've had long professional experience with scoring in different parts of the business, and I just have not seen that.
__________________
Phil Mann
Silk City Music Factory - CT Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-30-2020, 09:28 AM
B-Grade B-Grade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 133
Default Re: Will PT202x have Midi 2.0?

I too miss SVP so very much. It was way ahead of its time for MIDI. The "Convert MIDI to Audio" and "Audio to MIDI" were just brilliant.

Pro Tools MIDI gets a bad rap, and its mostly undeserved. However, during the horrid V11 and V12 it was quite useless with the timing. I have been toying with Logic recently and it is a very powerful MIDI machine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philthy View Post
I used Voyetra, Master Tracks, and then Studio Vision for a number of years. Studio Vision Pro was good for the time, and the guy behind it (‎Dave Oppenheim) went on to design the MIDI implementation in ProTools. I believe he still consults for Avid. That may be part of why I generally like the MIDI implementation in ProTools. It many ways it's quite similar to SVP. What features from SVP do you miss?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-30-2020, 05:39 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: Will PT202x have Midi 2.0?

Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Grade View Post
I have been toying with Logic recently and it is a very powerful MIDI machine.
That's because it has been built as MIDI sequencer to begin with. Audio is just an add-on. PT is just the opposite.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-30-2020, 06:02 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 392
Default Re: Will PT202x have Midi 2.0?

Except that Pro Tools has had 20 years to catch up to Logic's MIDI. It's really just a matter different priorities at this point.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Catalina, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-30-2020, 07:07 PM
GoButtonGuy GoButtonGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 29
Default Re: Will PT202x have Midi 2.0?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon2065 View Post
Maybe a bit premature but could the boffins at Avid be working on Midi 2.0, at least the early stages. Maybe why midi has not got much love, they are saving it all up. Could also be 5 years down the track. Steinberg are definitely working on it.
By the time MIDI 3 rolls out Pro Tools should be just starting to support MIDI 2. If one needs MIDI that deep this isn't the tool. The adoption of the new spec will be driven by the samplers and controllers more than DAWs. Seeing how the spec just came online and now a pandemic we're several years out. We're neck deep in MIDI as much as anyone in the business for music creation and performance as well as show control. Show control has well moved on to OSC or other modern control technologies. I haven't seen any smoke from either composers or conductor/band leader types that even hints of MIDI 2 adoption for music anytime soon. Only the geekiest know or care about it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
I feel pretty much the same way. Many of our productions are at least half MIDI, and all are done in Pro Tools.
We're seeing the opposite. I don't think we've created and launched a show in the last ten years or so that used Pro Tools for content creation or playback. It's mostly Live these days but some Logic for creation or playback. We use Pro Tools to track some shows. The larger live music shows multitrack every show but these days only a handful use Pro Tools. We use it when we're doing film or TV to maintain compatibility but by and large we've moved off it. Pro Tools can do music creation but there are better tools that are more cost effective and have wider support within the music writing/creating world.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
That's because it has been built as MIDI sequencer to begin with. Audio is just an add-on. PT is just the opposite.
I don't think that's a fair assessment of either the current versions of Logic or Live. They aren't audio to picture tools but for creation and recording of music either is just as capable and in some ways more capable particularly for creation.

Avid has maintained the tape deck paradigm for the most part (which is what I like about it). The other tools are more creator focused in the interfaces and feature sets and don't charge the premium that Avid commands for Pro Tools. I see Live and Logic as better recording and editing programs than Pro Tools is a virtual instrument music creation program.
__________________
What happens in Vegas, we make happen...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dr 770 (boss dr rhythm 770) as midi controller/midi output to 11r midi input yellow Eleven Rack 1 05-04-2012 03:33 PM
003 midi ports not there in midi studio setup? Unable to record midi now? TREBLEBLEED 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 12-22-2009 12:06 AM
MIDI Questions On IMPORTING MIDI & Recording MIDI Pro Tools LE 7.4 Michaeldante MIDI 3 03-27-2009 05:42 PM
USB midi vs. din midi-(the old style midi connector) Ling Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 02-19-2009 02:15 PM
Assigning MIDI sounds to MIDI controller and playing sounds with MIDI lalalandguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-02-2009 12:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com