Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-20-2019, 04:13 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,252
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by henningaround View Post
I have seen nothing of the errors above. Been working with 2019.10 now for a week or two with Decklink Studio2 and Aja Kona3G Card. Always QuickTime Movies with DNxHD36 Full HD. Have you guys tried different combinations of the video drivers (Aja or Balckmagic depending on your cards...)? I think it's version 10.11.2 of the Blackmagic driver on a macOS 10.12.6 here or Aja 15.0.1 on macOS 10.12.6.
Session is not too big. Stereo TV Mix on a HDX2 or HDnative system with ~ 150 voices used.
Native video, no drivers needed!!
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-23-2019, 12:19 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 419
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

I have not experienced this. DNxHD MXF video, 1080p through BM Decklink.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-23-2019, 07:34 AM
henningaround henningaround is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 84
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

Is it a native Desktop Video issue only then?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-02-2019, 03:45 PM
RossH RossH is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CANADA
Posts: 73
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

Having the same issue here since upgrading to 2019.10. Video loops small sections, usually if I work on a short section of audio for a bit, then start playback, the video will loop the short section I was working on. Bizarre. Video will also freeze on a single frame, while timeline continues playback.

Blackmagic Decklink Intensity Pro card, 11.3 drivers.
QuickTime Prores Proxy videos, and MXF's from Adobe Premiere CC 2020.

Hope they can fix this.
__________________
PT Ultimate 2019.10 // Mac Pro 2012 // High Sierra 10.13.6 // BlackMagic DeckLink Intensity Pro

Last edited by RossH; 12-02-2019 at 03:57 PM. Reason: spacing
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-10-2019, 06:32 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 186
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

I'm seeing this as well now,
not random loops though, it seems related to selection where I copy/pasted to or wrote automation to in preview mode. The loop is exactly a certain selection I made.

PT 2019.10 Ultimate, HDX, MacOS 10.12.6, Decklink driver 10.11.2, DNx36 .mov.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-19-2019, 04:22 PM
gwhatley's Avatar
gwhatley gwhatley is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Playa Vista, CA
Posts: 122
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

Bump - as this one is a show-stopper if you have clients, and disruptive enough to workflow even without people over your shoulder.

Of course I'm working in an earlier version when I have clients, but am curious:

1. if anyone has seen this officially addressed
2. if most people are NOT having this issue
3. if the current update .12 solves the problem (though it is not listed specifically in the bug fixes)

Thanks,

G.



Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
__________________
Garrard Whatley
Seismic Post Audio
Post Audio for Film and Television
System/Hardware Info
IMDb credits
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-19-2019, 05:33 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,146
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

#2. I haven’t seen this issue since I posted over a month ago. Sierra, 2019.10, AJA T-Tap, ProRes proxy video. All good.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-20-2019, 06:15 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 482
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

I experienced this looping bug for the first time today. Disabling and enabling the Video Engine once cleared it up. Still pretty disconcerting, though. Guess I'll give 2019.12 a try after all.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2019.12, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Octo; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.8, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-2 Quad, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Mojave, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-29-2019, 11:41 PM
mandal mandal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norway, Mandal
Posts: 232
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=407807
__________________
Win10 Home (64-bit), Avid OMNI PCIe, Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12, Avid HEAT, i7 processor, 16GB RAM, Samsung SSD 840 EVO (system disk), Siemens SSD840 PRO (session disk), Dell 43" 4K LED P4317Q
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-01-2020, 07:23 AM
mik mik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Paris
Posts: 333
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

Hi,


After installation, reset the prefs ans so on, 2019.10 seems to work on my system (high Sierra HDX). In editing process all was ok.


But after the session becomes complex, i began to have black screens after ten minutes, then after one or two minutes of playback.

Then the video begins to lag sometimes, stop or turns to black.


It was really unusable.
I switched back to 2019.5 and everything went smooth again.


I tried different codecs, DNX36 of course, but also Prores, or H264, but nothing really worked.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'The Video Engine reported and error' message when trying to play any video zerothrills Pro Tools 12 9 12-08-2019 11:37 PM
Problem enabling video engine 2019.6 Lydbildet Windows 11 08-31-2019 02:22 AM
PT 2019 same video problems garnoil Pro Tools 2019 12 05-12-2019 04:50 PM
Video Engine Fail "Waiting for the video engine to launch" oscar_wonderboy macOS 5 08-14-2018 02:22 AM
Video Engine not working.. crashing when i load in a video to PT11 sarahsherlock Pro Tools 11 5 08-16-2014 01:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com