Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2011, 02:01 PM
rhumphries rhumphries is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 438
Default Thunderbolt PCie Expansion chassis

http://campaign.r20.constantcontact....aVlvYHhA%3D%3D

Three PCIe expansion slots
Two x8 PCIe 2.0 slots
One x4 PCIe 2.0 slot
Up to 10Gbps Thunderbolt connection
220W power supply with (2) 4-pin auxiliary connectors
Daisy chain up to 6 Thunderbolt devices

$979
__________________
•HD Native, 192, AJA Kona LHi PCIe, 2x2.4GhzQuadcore Intel(5,1), 32GB Ram, OSX 10.12.6, PT 2019.6
•HD Native, 192, AJA Kona LHi PCIe, 2x2.4GhzQuadcore Intel(5,1), 32GB Ram, OSX 10.12.6 PT 2019.6
•HD Native, Omni, AJA Kona LHi PCIe, 2x2.4GhzQuadcore Intel(5,1), 32GB Ram, OSX 10.13.? PT 2019.6
•HD Native, Focusrite, BlackMagic Intensity, i9 9900, 32GB Ram, Windows 10 pro PT 2020.5
•HD Native, Omni, BlackMagic Intensity, i7 8600, 32GB Ram, Windows 10 pro PT 2019.6

[COLOR=SeaGreen][B][FONT=Trebuchet MS]www.TakomaMedia.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2011, 05:40 PM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: where land meets sky
Posts: 2,375
Default Re: Thunderbolt PCie Expansion chassis

What's with the constant contact marketing link?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2011, 06:24 AM
rhumphries rhumphries is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 438
Default Re: Thunderbolt PCie Expansion chassis

That's just the link that my editor sent me. I was under the impression it was linked directly to Magma. I didn't look closely at the URL.

I'm just trying to pass on information.

Here's a better link:

http://www.magma.com/thunderbolt.asp

-R
__________________
•HD Native, 192, AJA Kona LHi PCIe, 2x2.4GhzQuadcore Intel(5,1), 32GB Ram, OSX 10.12.6, PT 2019.6
•HD Native, 192, AJA Kona LHi PCIe, 2x2.4GhzQuadcore Intel(5,1), 32GB Ram, OSX 10.12.6 PT 2019.6
•HD Native, Omni, AJA Kona LHi PCIe, 2x2.4GhzQuadcore Intel(5,1), 32GB Ram, OSX 10.13.? PT 2019.6
•HD Native, Focusrite, BlackMagic Intensity, i9 9900, 32GB Ram, Windows 10 pro PT 2020.5
•HD Native, Omni, BlackMagic Intensity, i7 8600, 32GB Ram, Windows 10 pro PT 2019.6

[COLOR=SeaGreen][B][FONT=Trebuchet MS]www.TakomaMedia.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2011, 10:08 AM
mikevarela mikevarela is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 571
Default Re: Thunderbolt PCie Expansion chassis

thinking a core, plus accell card in one of these and you could use a iMac/macbook pro for HD?

think the system would understand the interface as PCIe (what thunderbolt it) and not bug the owner about choice of computer
__________________
NuanceTone.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2011, 10:44 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,811
Default Re: Thunderbolt PCie Expansion chassis

Yes, that's the beauty of this product. You could have an HD3 system hooked up to an IMac, Mac Mini, MacBook Air, etc. It's basically like PCIe slots outside the computer. Or you could do something like an HD Native card, UAD card, and Blackmagic video card, etc.

Sonnet is coming out with a one slot chassis around the end of December.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-14-2011, 11:08 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Thunderbolt PCie Expansion chassis

Thinking out loud here but a PCI-X to Thunderbolt box like this might work with the right bridge chip. You could use your old cards with a MacBook. Given the current PCI-X card prices it makes more sense to re task them.

Never mind just read the bottom part of the Magna page
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-14-2011, 11:17 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,550
Default Re: Thunderbolt PCie Expansion chassis

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Yes, that's the beauty of this product. You could have an HD3 system hooked up to an IMac, Mac Mini, MacBook Air, etc. It's basically like PCIe slots outside the computer. Or you could do something like an HD Native card, UAD card, and Blackmagic video card, etc.

Sonnet is coming out with a one slot chassis around the end of December.
You mean a box with fans on your desk next to your quiet laptop or macmini while trying to denoise your dialog tracks?

hm...

Don´t forget to order a pair of head-phones with it ;-)
__________________
PTHDn 2021.3 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-14-2011, 12:44 PM
D'Animation D'Animation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 442
Default Re: Thunderbolt PCie Expansion chassis

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
You mean a box with fans on your desk next to your quiet laptop or macmini while trying to denoise your dialog tracks?

hm...

Don´t forget to order a pair of head-phones with it ;-)
True but being able to have Revibe open at home would be very handy - Saves me the time bouncing the output to a track as ref before I leave work!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-14-2011, 01:08 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,811
Default Re: Thunderbolt PCie Expansion chassis

Well, it doesn't have to be on your desk. You could tuck it away just like you would your Mac Pro. Plus, with this new design, maybe the fans are quieter than older ones.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-14-2011, 11:56 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,550
Default Re: Thunderbolt PCie Expansion chassis

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Well, it doesn't have to be on your desk. You could tuck it away just like you would your Mac Pro. Plus, with this new design, maybe the fans are quieter than older ones.
how can you tuck your laptop away with the chassis and it's short cable and still work on the system?
__________________
PTHDn 2021.3 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Helios Thunderbolt PCIe Expansion Chassis JimmyM Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 11-04-2014 12:35 AM
Sonnet Echo Express III-R Thunderbolt PCIe Expansion Chassis Andi R Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 22 02-05-2014 10:35 PM
OWC Helios Thunderbolt PCIe Chassis Jantzen Buy & Sell 3 07-24-2013 10:10 AM
OWC now shipping PCIe to Thunderbolt chassis nst7 Pro Tools 10 5 10-23-2012 01:18 PM
Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ Ports Barry Johns Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 29 08-11-2012 07:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com