Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2003, 01:31 PM
modumscrotum modumscrotum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4
Default SCSI + Firewire??

Im running a Glyph SCSI for audio and a Digi F.Wire for backup. I've heard that it's best to use one or the other, but not both. I can't imigine why, since one is simply backup, but that's what I heard. Any opinions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2003, 01:54 PM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,825
Default Re: SCSI + Firewire??

The only comment that I have heard from digi is that you shouldn't mix drive types for audio in a current session. Stick with one of SCSI, ATA or firewire.
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2003, 04:08 PM
joestudio2 joestudio2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 13
Default Re: SCSI + Firewire??

my main drives are Glyph SCSI, but I have used Glyph firewire simultaneously with files across 3 drives. There was some wierdness. Had a song that would freeze the computer 3/4 through the song. Bounced the song in sections and reassembled it. Client didn't get a warm feeling on that one.

J
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2003, 01:00 PM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 564
Default Re: SCSI + Firewire??

DO NOT MIX DRIVE TYPES IN THE SAME SESSION!!

Recipe for disaster.

You could have a system with Fibre, SCSI and FW, all enabled and usable - no probs! Just don't split tracks across different drive types!

Digi makes a big point of this in a lot of lit. and in the compatability docs.

Peace.

mixboy [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
__________________
http://www.robburrell.com
PTHD Ultimate 2020.BETA/2019 Mac Pro 3.2ghz 16-core/96GB RAM/Aja Kona LHi/Akitio Thunder 3 Quad Mini with 4TB SSD drives/Focusrite 16Line/UAD-2 Octo PCIe/32 Channel S1/Dock with (5) 2019 Amazon Fire HD 10 Tablets/XMON//11.1.4 Dolby Atmos Setup
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SCSI or Firewire ewan Storage Subsystems 7 01-23-2005 12:48 AM
SCSI vs. Firewire jaygro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 09-29-2002 07:54 AM
scsi vs. firewire fieldtheory 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-10-2001 11:27 AM
Firewire to SCSI COCO Tips & Tricks 5 04-02-2001 10:41 PM
Does Masterlist support SCSI CD-R on a Orange Firewire-SCSI adapter ?? dw Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-26-2000 05:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com