Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2010, 07:16 AM
samplaire's Avatar
samplaire samplaire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 145
Default Video sync offset

When I do a post work I have the PT edit window on one monitor and the related video is displayed on a second monitor (the same type). What setting should I set in the video sync offset dialog if my monitor has 8ms delay? 8ms is less than 1 quarter frame (but close to) when 25FPS. Thank you for your help.

Wojtek
__________________
MacPro (modified 4,1) 2.93 hexa/GTX1080 8GB/28GB/6TB/Audient iD22/10.13.6/PT2019.12/Logic X 10.4.8/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2010, 10:15 AM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: where land meets sky
Posts: 2,375
Default Re: Video sync offset

It will probably be 1 or 2 quarter frames but there are variables and measuring is the best way to know. Syncheck can do that. You do not say which codec, some people have reported small changes in offset with different movie codecs, and of course monitors in real life do not behave like their spec sheets imply they will. The best way is to measure with a Syncheck. Second best, IMHO, is to set the offset to 1.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2010, 10:52 AM
samplaire's Avatar
samplaire samplaire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 145
Default Re: Video sync offset

Thanks for the info! Syncheck seems a good tool. I use different codecs (depends on the file I get from video studios). If it is an MPEG1 or h264 then I usually convert it to apple photo jpeg (because it is compatible with my work PT6). I understand you say '1' not '-1' as the offset. I'll try working with that and then I'll prepare a DVD to see it on my home video system.
__________________
MacPro (modified 4,1) 2.93 hexa/GTX1080 8GB/28GB/6TB/Audient iD22/10.13.6/PT2019.12/Logic X 10.4.8/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2010, 03:35 PM
mikevarela mikevarela is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 571
Default Re: Video sync offset

I'm on dell lcd monitors and usually they run between 2-5 qf. no sync check, just eyes. I also use the guide track to check against when spotting material - that always helps
__________________
NuanceTone.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2010, 11:22 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 929
Default Re: Video sync offset

I use 4qt frames, and it seems good.
__________________
Vedat

WaveRider + Defaulter (now with LKFS)
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-13-2010, 06:07 AM
lae777 lae777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 177
Default Re: Video sync offset

Hi,
My manual method is to go to the 2 pop and give pro tools approximately 5 seconds pre roll then press play and enter my offset until the 2 pop sync looks right. You really will know when it is right.
It is amazing how reliable you eyes and ears are!
On the set up I'm currently using I have a 16 quarter frame offset.
Syncheck looks good but I really can't justify the cost.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-13-2010, 10:49 AM
pindebraende pindebraende is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 459
Default Re: Video sync offset

Quote:
Originally Posted by lae777 View Post
Hi,
My manual method is to go to the 2 pop and give pro tools approximately 5 seconds pre roll then press play and enter my offset until the 2 pop sync looks right. You really will know when it is right.
It is amazing how reliable you eyes and ears are!
On the set up I'm currently using I have a 16 quarter frame offset.
Syncheck looks good but I really can't justify the cost.
Not trying to be rude, I just dont quite understand the process. Could you please explain exactely how you do this?

Best wishes,

Mikkel
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-14-2010, 02:28 AM
idris idris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Harpenden, just north of London, UK
Posts: 448
Default Re: Video sync offset

I used a Syncheck recently and the results suggested to me the method I think you are using is not viable: I found that the pictcture / video ofset needed would be different EVERY second. One second you could be +0.75, the next second -0.25, the next second +1, the next second -1. It was all over he place. (Your results may vary.)
__________________
PT2020.5.0 / HDN / HD Omni / MC Control / Intensity Pro / Catalina / 3.7 Quad core Intel Xeon ES (trashcan) MacPro / 12GB RAM
Over 20yrs experience in TV. Currently mainly indie features.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-15-2010, 09:09 AM
paranerd paranerd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, Canada
Posts: 282
Default Re: Video sync offset

Quote:
Originally Posted by idris View Post
I used a Syncheck recently and the results suggested to me the method I think you are using is not viable: I found that the pictcture / video ofset needed would be different EVERY second. One second you could be +0.75, the next second -0.25, the next second +1, the next second -1. It was all over he place. (Your results may vary.)
Was the delay jumping around on the SynCheck itself or what it noticeable on screen? I found that having less than fresh batteries in the SynCheck would make it erratic.
__________________
The Postman Post-Production Studio
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada

IMDb (very partial)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-16-2010, 05:50 AM
idris idris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Harpenden, just north of London, UK
Posts: 448
Default Re: Video sync offset

It was noticable on screen in as much as it just never looked right, though with the speed of the pips and inconsistency it was a sitution where you kept thinking "it's early ... no it's late ... oh hang on ... no itdefinitely late ... err was that in or out ... oh god I'm going mad!"
The Syncheck showed stable (though driffting) results via a Canopus so I'm pretty confident of the results.
__________________
PT2020.5.0 / HDN / HD Omni / MC Control / Intensity Pro / Catalina / 3.7 Quad core Intel Xeon ES (trashcan) MacPro / 12GB RAM
Over 20yrs experience in TV. Currently mainly indie features.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Sync Offset jumps simonchase Post - Surround - Video 21 02-21-2014 08:32 PM
Mojo Video Sync Offset TAFF Post - Surround - Video 4 04-01-2011 11:42 AM
Keeping Laybacks in Sync (delay compensation and Video sync offset) edit machine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-15-2010 11:33 AM
Video sync offset changes Studio Studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-15-2008 06:33 AM
Negative Video Sync Offset??? admix Post - Surround - Video 3 05-15-2008 10:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com