Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2009, 10:24 AM
TCM's Avatar
TCM TCM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,513
Default Routing pres via ADAT into 002R

I want to connect to my 002R a device (for example an Octopre LE) via ADAT. The main purpose would be to use it as a "relay" to connect some other good pres like an API (or similar) and route it via ADAT to the 002R.

I have the following questions:

1. Would be the conversion (ADAT card) of this device be a big determining factor for the sound that arrives via the 002R in PT?

2. Would the pres of the unit color the sound as well, or are they neutral?

The clock of my 002R is pretty good as the BLA Tweak Head Mod improved it 100%. I would keep it as my Masterclock.

Any input and advice is welcome!

Thanks
Thomas
__________________
002R BLA mod and Mbox mini 2, PT 11.3.2,
HD Native, HD IO 16x8x8, PT 2018.7, Win 10 Pro 64, Asrock X99 Extreme6/3.1, i7-6850K, 32 GB Ram, SSD system drive, ssd audio drive
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2009, 11:35 AM
MrJoshua MrJoshua is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 267
Default Re: Routing pres via ADAT into 002R

1. Since you're talking about using it strictly as a converter so you can hook up other preamps, I'd say the converter card would be the ONLY determining factor in that unit for the sound that arrives in PT.

2. I'm not familiar with that unit, but if you want to be able to hook up other preamps you need something with line-level inputs, not mic-level. You don't want to hook up your outboard preamps into a mic input.

I'd pick up either something that's strictly a converter (RME, Lynx, Apogee, etc...) or a preamp/converter unit that has line inputs so you can bypass the preamps when you want to.
__________________
Joshua L.
Decatur, AL
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2009, 11:48 AM
TCM's Avatar
TCM TCM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,513
Default Re: Routing pres via ADAT into 002R

Thanks Mr. J!

Your final suggestion with RME, Lynx, Apogee is an expensive one. I'd rather prefer to put this money in good pres. The 002R ADAT anyways only works with 48 khz, which is no problem, because I usually record in 48.

The Octopre LE, for example, has line inputs.

The crucial question is, if there are big quality differences in the conversion at 48 khz?
__________________
002R BLA mod and Mbox mini 2, PT 11.3.2,
HD Native, HD IO 16x8x8, PT 2018.7, Win 10 Pro 64, Asrock X99 Extreme6/3.1, i7-6850K, 32 GB Ram, SSD system drive, ssd audio drive
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2009, 02:47 AM
TCM's Avatar
TCM TCM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,513
Default Re: Routing pres via ADAT into 002R

No other input?
__________________
002R BLA mod and Mbox mini 2, PT 11.3.2,
HD Native, HD IO 16x8x8, PT 2018.7, Win 10 Pro 64, Asrock X99 Extreme6/3.1, i7-6850K, 32 GB Ram, SSD system drive, ssd audio drive
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2009, 11:19 AM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Routing pres via ADAT into 002R

check out http://www.aphex.com/142.htm , sounds great and it's very inexpensive!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's better... BLA 002R Mod Pres or DigiMax FS Pres via Lightpipe? DeyBwah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-04-2010 07:39 PM
Pops and clicks through ADAT pres bjmort 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-17-2009 05:41 AM
More mic pres for digg 002r? Lavallee Tips & Tricks 2 11-08-2006 12:24 AM
001 vs. 002R - mic pres Cavet Your Eruptor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-02-2006 01:10 PM
Routing ADAT with 002R Spyrojoe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-09-2005 03:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com