Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2001, 12:06 AM
AIllusion AIllusion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Idaho, United States
Posts: 48
Default Non-linear Output From Monitor Knob

Digi has been great in resolving bugs with the C24 except for one... just wondering if anyone else has this same issue with the main output control. The level "jumps" in both directions when dialing the volume knob. The transition is not smooth as one would expect. Instead of tapered db control, it's more like a taper with intermittent stairsteps. The level can jump +/- 4-5 db when slightly turning the control.

Any solutions?

Thanks,
__________________
PT 7.3.1cs5, HD3
192 I/O, Control|24
2GHz G5, 2.56G ram
OS 10.4.11
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-20-2001, 12:20 AM
c zarkos c zarkos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 36
Default Re: Non-linear Output From Monitor Knob

This is addresed(sort of ) in the C24 manual.
The control circuts are digitally controlled. Read Page 48 of the manual for the explaination. Hope this helps. Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-20-2001, 10:00 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,531
Default Re: Non-linear Output From Monitor Knob

Information courtesy of Stan Cotey, product manager for control surfaces here at Digi:

Something users may notice is a funny "bump" in the taper of the monitor control. The monitor level control is accomplished electronically, so the actual rotary level control is really a shaft encoder as opposed to an analog pot. There are a finite number of steps (in this case I think it's 32) on the rotary control, which means there will be some compromise between how large the control range is and how large the individual steps are. The taper was specially designed by Focusrite to offer the best control range, given the fixed number of steps. However, there is a nearly 10dB "bump" in the level control down around the nine O'clock position on the control. This is normal and again, if the monitor system is set up properly (see below), should not be a problem.


-I suggest setting the monitor power amplifier gain (or powered monitor gain) so that reasonably loud (but not "blasting") monitor levels occur at around 2:00 on the monitor level control. This allows another 10dB of gain to check low level detail and reverb tails, etc. while providing a good working range of adjustment and it should be very quiet, noise-wise, as well.

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-20-2001, 02:21 PM
PTLance PTLance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Port Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 468
Default Re: Non-linear Output From Monitor Knob

What would the advantage of this be? Since we are all pretty used to analog pots, why was this put in instead? Is it better and something we should get used to? It is weird fading a song using that pot.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-20-2001, 03:28 PM
Stan Cotey Stan Cotey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 134
Default Re: Non-linear Output From Monitor Knob

The primary advantage of this type of circuit is that the channel to channel levels are matched to within 0.1 dB at any position of the level control, which is obviously a step up from a multi-ganged analog control.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-21-2001, 12:18 AM
AIllusion AIllusion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Idaho, United States
Posts: 48
Default Re: Non-linear Output From Monitor Knob

Thanks for the help!

Rex
__________________
PT 7.3.1cs5, HD3
192 I/O, Control|24
2GHz G5, 2.56G ram
OS 10.4.11
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox 2 Pro Monitor knob has stopped changing monitor levels Rumandolin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-21-2013 09:13 AM
Replacing the Main Monitor Level KNOB! a2zproductions ICON & C|24 4 11-01-2008 09:35 PM
Monitor out togheter with monitor volume knob kennylovrin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-22-2006 08:19 AM
Monitor level (knob) question Pedro perez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-17-2005 01:25 PM
Need Mbox help!! Very low output.. weird mix knob reptilzar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-24-2005 09:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com