Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-16-2001, 08:23 PM
Ovey Ovey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rochester
Posts: 7
Default Non-dedicated System: Is it Possible?

Just out of curiosity...
Has anybody put together an Athlon based system with the 001 that isn't totally dedicated to Pro Tools?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-16-2001, 09:18 PM
JPS JPS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 924
Default Re: Non-dedicated System: Is it Possible?

I believe many users have non-dedicated systems. I use my computer for word processing, surfing the net and music. I've got a 1.2 Athlon and the GA-7DX. My installation includes 3 different sound cards, which live rather peacefully together and only occasionally get in each other's way (Digi 001, SB Live! Value, and M-Audio 2496). Here is a recent thread that shows what others are doing. http://duc.digidesign.com/cgi-bin/ub...&f=32&t=002458
__________________
John-Q6600,GA-EP35-DS3P, Zigmatec S1283: 235 D-Verbs @ 2.4 ghz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2001, 09:33 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Non-dedicated System: Is it Possible?

I agree with JPS,
If your system is setup correctly, you can do almost anything with these new motherboards. I use my computer for all office work, scanning the web, music production, and graphics design. A7M266 motherboard with 1.33ghz AMD 266FSB. The key is getting those IRQ settings correct.
Allen [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2001, 09:56 PM
ashenvy ashenvy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 99
Default Re: Non-dedicated System: Is it Possible?

Thanks to a lot of advice from these forums...I can run my Digi and ProTools with no problems from other devices...so far. I just got it two weeks ago...so I haven't had a whole lot of time to work with it.

I have two hardware profiles set up in Win98. One for Audio, and one for everything else. Makes it easy.

My audio profile has everything disabled that I don't need for audio work:
NIC, Modem, SBLive, USB controllers, etc.

My "normal" config has just the Digi disabled and everything else enabled. It works fine, as far as I can tell.

The only problem I have had is trying to get the Digi and the SBLive to work at the same time. I would like to use the Soundfonts, but have been unsuccessful at it.

My system:

Abit KT7A-RAID (Raid disabled)
Athlon 1.33/266 FSB
Maxtor 40g/7200spin
512 MB RAM
Gigabyte Geforce2 32DDR RAM Graphics
Digi001
SBLive! 5.1
Some old Dell modem, out of an old system
Phoebe NIC
etc, etc
__________________
Ryan
Drooling Looney Productions
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2001, 09:52 AM
Ovey Ovey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rochester
Posts: 7
Default Re: Non-dedicated System: Is it Possible?

Another related question-
If I was looking to use my computer for recording as well as other things such as gaming, how is the A7M266's built in audio as far as tendency to cause conflicts?
Am I better off getting another PCI card?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2001, 03:38 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Non-dedicated System: Is it Possible?

Ovey,
When I got my new board, I had my onboard audio, Digi, and a PC Audio card all running at the same time with no problems. I didn't really care for the quality of the onboard sound, but for gaming it may be fine. When you get your board, put digi in slot3 and force IRQ to 10. Then post your IRQ settings on the DUC. Good luck.
Allen
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Partitoining System Drive? Dedicated "User" for PT9? LSNY macOS 3 06-25-2011 05:59 AM
SC Dedicated Machine? or no way? Mr.Gute Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 05-25-2006 10:57 AM
External, Dedicated HD davidkain 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-21-2005 02:20 PM
PC dedicated to digi001 » Nicke 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-06-2001 09:14 AM
dedicated drive badperson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-26-2001 12:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com