Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-19-2019, 06:57 AM
sound01 sound01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 87
Default Re: HDX vs Native

Hi

Thanks everyone, good to hear different sides of the debate.

Oddly, my colleagues native system, running the session that I can’t, isn’t on 2019.5 but still manages to run all the tracks/busses without any hassle. Which still confuses me?!?

Also, as noted above, I will go back and make sure the dsp/native positioning for the plug-ins is correct but I’m sure it is.

Thanks all, I appreciate the feedback and your time.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-19-2019, 11:04 AM
clivvy clivvy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 42
Default Re: HDX vs Native

HD native is a fantastic card i chose it instead of HDX never had problems with buffer settings alway ran mine at max settings the one thing i did realize at the time protools ultimate 2018 you need a faster computer with a fast cpu speed i had a 2008 and moved up to a 2012 with a 3.46ghz cpu its amazing it can know run any plugins no matter what size and tons of VIs who needs HDX!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-19-2019, 11:54 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,248
Default Re: HDX vs Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by clivvy View Post
who needs HDX
anyone who needs 65th input
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-19-2019, 02:32 PM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 186
Default Re: HDX vs Native

Was running HD Native after HD3, have now gone to HDX, as it's so much tighter in the headphones. (mainly track/mix bands)

Performance wise, I got the equivalent of HDX2 with HD Native and the 12 core.. so ended up with two HDX cards, and it's been a dream )
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30” Cinema
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-21-2019, 05:41 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 85
Default Re: HDX vs Native

My experience is similar. At the studio, I record mainly jazz outfits and they are super critical of latency in their cans. But I like to load up the plugins while I'm tracking so I've got eq, dynamics, reverbs etc. all happening while I'm in record (and sometimes I plumb in our EMT 240), with up to 30 tracks in record. The HDX system we have is ideal for this. On the other hand, when it comes to mixing I now prefer working on my native system which is subjectively snappier to use and definitely handles bigger mixes without choking.

So I'd never give up HDX at the studio but I'd never want it in my mix room.
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.5/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-21-2019, 05:58 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,248
Default Re: HDX vs Native

I'm not trying to take over the thread too much, but guys, have you always calculated the DSP latency that is going on with the mixer? I mean if the DSP latency is 350 samples how come its monitoring is tighter than full-native mixer with 128 playback buffer, tell me?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-21-2019, 06:44 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 85
Default Re: HDX vs Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I'm not trying to take over the thread too much, but guys, have you always calculated the DSP latency that is going on with the mixer? I mean if the DSP latency is 350 samples how come its monitoring is tighter than full-native mixer with 128 playback buffer, tell me?
Well you know me by now - never read manuals, just make it up as I go along, so I'm probably talking rubbish. That said, here goes...

I just made a copy of one of my 48k sessions here at the studio and first set all the plugins to DSP mode and noted the track with the largest value in the delay compensation display - 2.94 mS. This is the same regardless of what buffer size is set.

I then changed all the plugins to native mode and the largest value in the delay compensation display was 12mS at 128 buffer, rising to 87mS at 1024 buffer. But the 12mS figure is irrelevant because the session won't play or record at 128 buffer with the plugins native - in fact it won't play at anything less than 1024 as far as I can see with a quick test.

But it will play and record at 128 (and indeed did, this was the big band session I mentioned elsewhere) with the plugins in DSP mode.
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.5/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-21-2019, 06:54 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,248
Default Re: HDX vs Native

further off-topic, but i'd like to know which plugins you load to your system.. 128 samples / 48k should in itself be 2.7ms so even a +10ms value makes me think one of your plugins introduces extra latency
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-21-2019, 07:16 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 85
Default Re: HDX vs Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
further off-topic, but i'd like to know which plugins you load to your system.. 128 samples / 48k should in itself be 2.7ms so even a +10ms value makes me think one of your plugins introduces extra latency
Let me see...

8 instances of Avid ChannelStrip
2 instances of EQ3 1-band
2 instances of Massenburg eq5
6 instances of BF-76
1 instance of McDSP Channel G G-console
1 instance of McDSP Channel G eq
1 instance of brainworx bx_bassdude
2 instances of Revibe II

and remember that we do all the foldback/talkback/reverse talkback through Pro Tools. In this session I was running six stereo cues if that makes any difference.
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.5/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-21-2019, 07:19 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,248
Default Re: HDX vs Native

you can test it yourself.. one plugin might behive nicely on DSP and have thousands of samples of native latency

so remove f'ex all MCDSP from the mixer and see how much the latency changed. i have no idea which plugin it is but should not bring roundtrip to +10ms
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: McDSP Analog Channel Native V5, 6020 Ultimate EQ Native V5 soundroad Buy & Sell 31 03-21-2016 06:03 AM
Does HD native or native native disable plugins when monitoring inputs? BasketCase Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 05-20-2013 08:48 AM
FLUX Elixier V3 AAX Native & DSP + Freeware Bittersweet V3 AAX Native & DSP released psmworld AAX Plug-ins 18 01-31-2013 04:16 PM
SSL4000 native/ Renmaxx native/ DUY everpack native!!! cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-22-2007 07:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com