Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-02-2014, 03:58 PM
FAX FAX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nashville
Posts: 20
Default Re: A Few Start-Up Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedhed View Post
To elaborate on Top Jimmy's post; It's not unreasonable for you to assume this but in fact, the Midi Studio does not 'make' or enable connections, they already exist. The Midi Studio just facilitates a way of being able to select routing using customized names for each routing path.
Thank you, Mr. zedhed.

Yes, I understand. I certainly meant no disrespect.

I trust, however, that we an all agree that Avid's resource documentation is occasionally. If this is simply a case in which the aforementioned "list" has no useful value, I would question its existence. Then again, I'm not charged with the responsibility of advising Avid's development or customer relationship teams. I'm merely a customer/user (or attempting to be).

I don't know if Mr. Top Jimmy is upset (if he is, I offer my most humble apologies and stab myself in the eye) ... for my part, I'm cool as the spring breeze on a perspiring swimsuit model's cleavage.

It seems as though there are two types of people in the world, Mr. zedhed; Those who perceive this community as a forum for bitch-festing and those who merely wish to discover and learn as much as possible and as quickly as possible in order to maximize their enjoyment of and productivity in Pro Tools. Please rest assured that I am in the latter camp and have nothing to do with those other horrible people.

FAX
__________________
1) Box of Things: Acer
2) Processor: Dual AMD E-450 APU with Radeon HD Graphics
3) OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1
4) Avid Hardware: MobilePre USB
5) PT Version: 11.1.2 (Non-HD)
6) RAM: 4 Gb (3.5 usable)
7) Drives:
A) ST 310005 24AS SATA Disk Drive
B) Generic Multi-Card USB
8) Other peripherals: None

Open For recommendations/advice on the following items;

1) Upgraded I/O Device. (Only need 2 in, 2 out, plus MIDI).
2) External Audio Drive. (7200 RPM)
3) Basic Meaning of Life.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-02-2014, 04:03 PM
FAX FAX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nashville
Posts: 20
Default Re: A Few Start-Up Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
The Mbox is on sale all over right now for $299. Even cheaper if you do some searching. It's very reliable with Pro Tools. Sure, it comes with Express, but you can look at it as getting a free $50 iLok to keep as a spare in case your current one breaks.
Excellent point regarding the iLok. That is what I'll do.

The term "reliable" is music to my ears on this deal.

Thanks again, Mr. Top Jimmy.

FAX
__________________
1) Box of Things: Acer
2) Processor: Dual AMD E-450 APU with Radeon HD Graphics
3) OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1
4) Avid Hardware: MobilePre USB
5) PT Version: 11.1.2 (Non-HD)
6) RAM: 4 Gb (3.5 usable)
7) Drives:
A) ST 310005 24AS SATA Disk Drive
B) Generic Multi-Card USB
8) Other peripherals: None

Open For recommendations/advice on the following items;

1) Upgraded I/O Device. (Only need 2 in, 2 out, plus MIDI).
2) External Audio Drive. (7200 RPM)
3) Basic Meaning of Life.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-02-2014, 04:07 PM
FAX FAX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nashville
Posts: 20
Default Re: A Few Start-Up Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
SPTI = SCSI Pass Through Interface. This is what Pro Tools uses to access your optical drive. It probably doesn't need to run all the time, only on demand.
Awesome, Mr. Top Jimmy. Simply awesome.

Knowledge is a wonderful thing.

I would also like to take this moment to thank you for the links you provided in your other post. I'll spend the remainder of the evening going through that material in the hope that I will achieve enlightenment.

Appreciate it.

FAX
__________________
1) Box of Things: Acer
2) Processor: Dual AMD E-450 APU with Radeon HD Graphics
3) OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1
4) Avid Hardware: MobilePre USB
5) PT Version: 11.1.2 (Non-HD)
6) RAM: 4 Gb (3.5 usable)
7) Drives:
A) ST 310005 24AS SATA Disk Drive
B) Generic Multi-Card USB
8) Other peripherals: None

Open For recommendations/advice on the following items;

1) Upgraded I/O Device. (Only need 2 in, 2 out, plus MIDI).
2) External Audio Drive. (7200 RPM)
3) Basic Meaning of Life.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-02-2014, 07:36 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,026
Default A Few Start-Up Issues

FAX, even if you buy the Mbox, I fear you will still be disappointed. Pro Tools is built to be the most deterministic DAW on the market and as such, it requires a platform to run on that can support the real-time processing demands needed to guarantee Pro Tools' performance. The biggest influence on this is the mobo chipset. Seeing which processor you have makes me suspect that the chipset is not going to support running Pro Tools.

It's no guarantee that your system will work, but download and run the DPC latency checker to see how your system performs. http://www.thesycon.de/deu/latency_check.shtml

Good luck.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
start up issues PT10 porkyman Windows 11 01-29-2013 08:46 AM
Adjust Session Start Time Issues anders Post - Surround - Video 7 01-11-2013 02:08 PM
When Upgraded to new 9.0.5 update start up issues Refl3x Pro Tools 9 7 09-08-2011 11:35 PM
Start up issues on 7.1.10cs mbp 17inch10.4.11 yanncrusoe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-08-2009 11:50 AM
Downloaded PT 8 and it wont start PT logo moves but doesnt start????????? protonneutron 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-30-2008 03:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com