Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2012, 06:41 AM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 828
Default Pro Tools Performance Optimization?

Hi All, I'm looking for information about how best to optimize your computer and Pro Tools. Is there an article on this somewhere that folks go to? Is it covered best in the User's Guide somewhere?

Here's what I am running.

PT10.2 (upgraded a couple nights ago)
on a....
Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
16GB Ram (was 4 until yesterday - I know it's excessive, but it's sooo cheap)

I was having some flaky behavior at 4gb. Hesitation, latency, a 'free up some ram' message whenever I had too many tracks and/or plugins going on in a session and slow window changing. Cleaning up hard-drive space helped a litle bit. The minor version release helped a bit. The excessive RAM helped a ton.

I figured that I night as well finish the job off and make sure the settings are where they should be for both Windows and PT. I prefer as few resources as possible just in case the combination of settings from various resources don't blend well.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2012, 07:43 AM
PD-John PD-John is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 488
Default Re: Pro Tools Performance Optimization?

Have a look at Pg 20 onwards in the "Pro Tools Installation.pdf" file (it should be in the "Documentation" folder). There's some recommended Windows optimizations in there.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2012, 10:25 AM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,947
Default Re: Pro Tools Performance Optimization?

Never apologize for RAM you can never have enough.

Here are the optimizations that are mandatory for an excellent Pro Tools experience.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...411?popup=true

And here.

http://www.youtube.com/view_play_lis...EC1AEC94DB22D6
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.4 Antelope Orion 32
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2012, 05:17 PM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 828
Default Re: Pro Tools Performance Optimization?

Awesome! Thanks, folks. Looks like it'll do the trick. :)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2012, 12:26 AM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Pro Tools Performance Optimization?

This post should be pinned !!

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2012, 01:38 AM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Smile Re: Pro Tools Performance Optimization?

In general, for Mac and PC see:
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...oting/en367983

Most flavours available (apart from Brussel Sprouts...that's just wrong)
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-01-2012, 08:26 PM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 828
Default Re: Pro Tools Performance Optimization?

A quick update. PT is running exceptionally well now, and I'm barely scartching the surface of available RAM. Latency is a non-issue. Recording 9 (8 kit parts and one composite) tracks at once via Strike and a MIDI file in addition to tracking a bass didn't cause even the slightest hiccup. We'll see how it all is after loading it up with pluggins after I'm done tracking.

At any rate, thanks for the tips. All is well. <knock on wood>
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi Bug Fix Department - Pro Tools 8 Optimization with Reason Rewired. studiotime@comcast.net 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-09-2009 09:55 AM
Macbook Optimization for Pro Tools theo.posthumus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-02-2009 10:12 AM
Pro tools 7.2/3 performance on G4 karljohnson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-18-2006 10:41 AM
Pro Tools Hard Drive Optimization CO2 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 01-26-2003 10:22 PM
Digi, any thoughts on ATTO optimization REDUCING drive performance? DaveCarlock Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 06-14-2001 02:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com