Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-16-2010, 10:26 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,310
Default Re: New HD Omni

192 Digital I/O uses DB 25s too.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-16-2010, 10:32 PM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,832
Default Re: New HD Omni

Yes, just checked the back panel of mine .
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End E-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel - 10.3.10 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM and Mac Pro 2,1 GB
Mastering Gear: Pendulum, Crane, Avalon, Great River, Sebatron, Sonnox, PSP, TC, Fab Filter.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-16-2010, 10:37 PM
Thumper1040 Thumper1040 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 20
Default Re: New HD Omni

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
192 Digital I/O uses DB 25s too.
You're right. I learned something tonight.

I learned that I should keep paying our tech to keep up with all this stuff...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-16-2010, 10:38 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: New HD Omni

i found a pic of the new AVID HD OMNI

looks pretty primitive

also only one meter ...weird

i bet they sell like hot waffles

http://jimmyhunter.com/duc/new_avid_hd_omni.JPG

looks like they cut down a bit on hi tech look in the engineering

probably give snow leapard a hedge on the loudness wars

good luck boys..i'll hold fast
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-16-2010, 10:41 PM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,832
Talking Re: New HD Omni

LOL.
Your version is the improved 192 model.

I´ve got the 96 Model...
See:

http://www.google.com.br/imgres?imgu...w=1276&bih=628
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End E-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel - 10.3.10 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM and Mac Pro 2,1 GB
Mastering Gear: Pendulum, Crane, Avalon, Great River, Sebatron, Sonnox, PSP, TC, Fab Filter.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-16-2010, 10:42 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: New HD Omni

Other products using AES DB25:

Apogee Rosetta 800
Apogee AD/DA 16x
New Apogee Symphony I/O
Lynx Aurora
Mytek 8 x 192
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-16-2010, 10:43 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: New HD Omni

Hey, this thing can't be real. It doesn't say "Made In China"!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-16-2010, 11:04 PM
Thumper1040 Thumper1040 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 20
Default Re: New HD Omni

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Other products using AES DB25:

Apogee Rosetta 800
Apogee AD/DA 16x
New Apogee Symphony I/O
Lynx Aurora
Mytek 8 x 192
I get it I get it I get it... No need to show off... Haha, thanks bro...

What's weird is we have 4 apogee x boxes here, I've just never looked at the back of them. They're all hooked up via the xcards direct to the hd cards.

For some reason I thought that AES was via xlr only...

Does spdif use something besides RCA connectors? Ya know... Seeing that I'm in a learning mode...
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-16-2010, 11:10 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: New HD Omni

Well, I just recently figured out that DB25's are basically mini xlr's all lumped together. If you count the holes, they add up to 24, which would be the 3 prongs of an xlr, times 8. For AES, it's a little different, because it seems that 2 channels can go over 1 xlr cable, and I don't know how that adds up on a DB25.

For what it's worth, spdif is like an unbalanced, consumer version of AES. It's kind of like the difference between RCA and TRS for analog. I only learned that when I was learning about the Dangerous Dbox. You can use a special cable that goes from spidf rca (from a 003) to xlr AES (on the Dbox).
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 08-16-2010, 11:14 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,025
Default Re: New HD Omni

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
For AES, it's a little different, because it seems that 2 channels can go over 1 xlr cable, and I don't know how that adds up on a DB25.
8 AES inputs and 8 AES outputs all on one DB25.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Omni i/o Tigerfeet Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 12-20-2013 12:50 PM
Omni vs HD 8x8x8 io and Omni Pre's Southsidemusic Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 13 03-27-2013 01:00 AM
OMNI vs HD I/O michael c macOS 4 04-06-2012 04:24 PM
OMNI Fried? Calling Omni Members - Check High Samplerates KingFish Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-03-2011 09:19 PM
Be aware! Potential HD Omni buyers with treated Rooms and Computers. Omni Noisy Fan FRaNCo MuSiC Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 0 09-25-2011 05:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com