Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2010, 07:53 AM
grendizer grendizer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Beirut, Lebanon
Posts: 112
Default LE to HD quality difference

Hello, I’ve been recording for about 6 years now with LE 003, Currently my set-up looks like this.

G5 dual ppc
003
Universal audio 2-610 mic pre
Focusrite octopre
Waves diamond and ssl native bundle.


I’m trying to figure out if the benefits outweigh the cost before upgrading from a LE 003 to an HD1. Therefore, I have a few question’s and all answer’s are greatly appreciated.

Question’s

1: with the exception of the AD converter. Is there any other difference in the QUALITY of the recordings between a 003 and HD if the recording is at same bit/sample rates.


2: Is there any difference in the QUALITY between native plugs and TDM plugs? Or is it just, one is internal processing and the other is host based.


3: can’t I get an apogee or top end ADC and get away with HD quality on my 003?
  #2  
Old 02-10-2010, 07:55 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: LE to HD quality difference

1st off, WELCOME to the DUC...

2ndly, search the DUC... a zillion threads on exactly all u ask & I won't be the only to tell u this... just the 1st...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
  #3  
Old 02-10-2010, 07:58 AM
grendizer grendizer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Beirut, Lebanon
Posts: 112
Default Re: LE to HD quality difference

i typed "LE to HD" in the search bar. 0 searches were found
  #4  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:04 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: LE to HD quality difference

Well being that the DUC search engine sucks big time, I'll give u that; the trick is Google...

I will tell u this, HD1 will be a joke...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
  #5  
Old 02-10-2010, 11:09 AM
68topls 68topls is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 277
Default Re: LE to HD quality difference

I'm a pro-tools user that went from an 003 rack+ to an hd1 setup. Before I answer your question keep in mind my setup is 192 i/o not the 96 i/o you would normally get (or get offered) with an hd1 setup. There is a difference in quality when recording at the same bit / sample rate. Although I would say that the difference varies on what your recording, I can't honestly answer the plug-in question. You can use rtas and TDM plugins but I haven't been using it long enough to answer quality difference. I "*believe*" there is a difference but I can't quantify it. The choice for me to go HD was simple and I'm happy with my setup. Though I will say that I'm already thinking of getting a process card.
__________________
Mac 8 core 2.8GHZ 4GB RAM, 4TB Disk, OS X 10.6.2
HD1 core card, 192 i/o, behringer ADA 8000 mic pre, symetrix sx202 mic pre, Behringer studio monitors, tascam cd-a500, SM58, Blue Baby Bottle,Samson co2, M-audio Keystation pro,
  #6  
Old 02-10-2010, 11:09 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,247
Default Re: LE to HD quality difference

Where's Peppertree when you need him? Or whatever he's called nowadays
  #7  
Old 02-10-2010, 12:57 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,242
Default Re: LE to HD quality difference

Here's the truth about the importance of QUALITY:

#1 the talent. you have it or you don't have it. if you have it, you show it. if you cannot show it, you do not have it. this is what the mic sees.

#2 the equipment. you preserve the talent or you destroy it. unless you don't destroy it, the talent's performance is preserved. use as good quality equipment as you need to preserve the talent.

#3 the mixing guy. you do whatever you are given. sometimes you find your way to make some magic, sometimes not. but you always deal with what you have been given. so do your best but never whine about not having good quality source. it is not your problem.

#4 the mastering process. no matter what you have been given, make the most of it. no excuses. the final product must be the best that is possible, given the source material.

==>

whatever is closer to the source matters the most. if the bass player changed the strings 10 years ago, the bass sound sucks. nobody can do anything, unless the bassist changed the strings before the session.

source first !!
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
  #8  
Old 02-10-2010, 01:12 PM
BaileyBass BaileyBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: LE to HD quality difference

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
if the bass player changed the strings 10 years ago, the bass sound sucks. nobody can do anything, unless the bassist changed the strings before the session.
!
James Jamerson?? never...

But Anthony Jackson changed his strings (all 6!) after each take with Chick Corea (nite sprite)..

Two sides of a coin... great hands and feel outweigh strings, usually..your #1 (the talent) JFreak SB
  #9  
Old 02-10-2010, 02:09 PM
LarsB LarsB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 15
Default Re: LE to HD quality difference

Look here http://www.blacklionaudio.com/Modifications/Digi+003R;)
__________________
Cheers
LarsB
  #10  
Old 02-10-2010, 02:45 PM
fasttraxx fasttraxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 656
Default Re: LE to HD quality difference

I have a 002 and an HD 3 accel with 192. The HD has many more functions, the 192 sounds better, the TDM plugs are great. I do have an older dual 1.8 G-5, so not sure about the newer MAC's. My HD system has been nothing but great. Everytime I use the 002, I wish I was on my HD.

You might want to consider what your needs are. I do alot of bands, with lots of tracks and plugins. My 002 simply could not do the things I would need it to do. The 192 sounds better to me, never tried to have 002 upgraded as someone else pointed out.
__________________
Thanks and God Bless!
Y.B.I.C.
Bill
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sound-quality difference between using PT on a PC vs a Mac gavriil1 Pro Tools 10 29 11-27-2012 06:18 PM
Is there a quality difference between 32 and 64 bit? Infiltrator General Discussion 12 09-22-2010 06:50 PM
SRC quality and difference null Burmansound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-10-2005 07:57 AM
SDII & WAV is there a quality difference? linga 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 03-05-2004 02:47 PM
no difference in sound quality rems 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-05-2002 11:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com